3dmark scores weird - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2007, 11:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 145
Default 3dmark scores weird

Is a 3DMark06 (version 1.1.0) score of around 4350 normal for the system in my sig? My friend has a AMD Athlon 64 3800+ and a GeForce 8800GTS (i think) and got like 5835. Is he lying or is there something wrong on my end?
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.5Ghz | ASUS A8N-SLI | 2GB Corsair XMS DDR400 [SIZE=\"1\"](2-3-3-6)[/SIZE] | eVGA GeForce 7900GT [SIZE=\"1\"](500/1500)[/SIZE] | 1TB of SATA harddrives | SB X-Fi | Antec TruePower2.0 550W
synth7 is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 11:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default

Its not bad considering I got a 4909 with a single core cpu... and a 7900GTX.
__________________

__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 11:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 145
Default

Is my dual-core hurting my score? instead of having a super-fast single core games use 100% of, i have two medium-speed (I'm guessing) cores. Also, a friend of mine says 7900GT's are bad for gaming?

true/not true?
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.5Ghz | ASUS A8N-SLI | 2GB Corsair XMS DDR400 [SIZE=\"1\"](2-3-3-6)[/SIZE] | eVGA GeForce 7900GT [SIZE=\"1\"](500/1500)[/SIZE] | 1TB of SATA harddrives | SB X-Fi | Antec TruePower2.0 550W
synth7 is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 11:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Your freind is wrong.


Dual core is "better" for gaming, and a 7900GT is an excellent gamin card.


Your score seems fine.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 11:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default

Lord AnthraX is 100% on..

The one test is for dual core processors, actually I think the whole 3Dmark06 is optimized for dual cores.. thus why my score is lower than it should be.
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.