3dmark score, low? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-24-2007, 12:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 70
Default 3dmark score, low?

Well I ran the 3dmark06 test yesterday and I got a score of 11,270. Does this seem low to anyone, considering my current rig (sig)? I haven't overclocked anything yet.
__________________

__________________
Completely Sunday, December 23/2007

Processor: Q6600 Quad-Core
RAM: 4GB Kingston RAM
Graphics Card: 8800GTX 768mb
Motherboard: Asus Striker Extreme Gaming Motherboard
Hard drive: Seagate 500gb 7200RPM harddrive
Monitor: 24" Samsung monitor
Case: Antec 900 gaming motherboard
Speakers, Mouse, Keyboard: TEC Sound
Pastasauce is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 12:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LeftEyeBlind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: America
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to LeftEyeBlind
Default Re: 3dmark score, low?

Have you overclocked anything? That might be the reason.
__________________

__________________
PROJECT WOLFDALE<br><br>GIGABTE GA-P35-DS3L (Rev. 2)<br><br>Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 "Wolfdale" 3.66Ghz<br><br>2X512MB Patriot Extreme - 1X1GB Mushkin<br><br>BFG 8800GT OC<br><br>Antec Nine Hundred
LeftEyeBlind is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 12:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 70
Default Re: 3dmark score, low?

Nope, I haven't overclocked a single thing yet. But besides that is it low? And the third test was really weird, it went all pixelized and I had 0-2 fps.
__________________
Completely Sunday, December 23/2007

Processor: Q6600 Quad-Core
RAM: 4GB Kingston RAM
Graphics Card: 8800GTX 768mb
Motherboard: Asus Striker Extreme Gaming Motherboard
Hard drive: Seagate 500gb 7200RPM harddrive
Monitor: 24" Samsung monitor
Case: Antec 900 gaming motherboard
Speakers, Mouse, Keyboard: TEC Sound
Pastasauce is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 12:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: 3dmark score, low?

left behind, did you not even read his post?
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 12:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: 3dmark score, low?

not really..seems right on par.
mgcook is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 12:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: 3dmark score, low?

youl get quite an increase once you oc your cpu, does seem a litle slow, and yes the third test is the cpu test it runs the gfx off only the cpu.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 12:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: 3dmark score, low?

i barely crack 12k with my setup on stock settings. so 11k is right where it should be all stock.
mgcook is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 12:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: 3dmark score, low?

Sounds fine to me!

I think its just that CPU test leaving a bad taste in your mouth- its meant to be like that, bestofthebest rigs manage about 3fps in those tests.
Andyf is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 01:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default Re: 3dmark score, low?

smells like vista,

built new rig q6600 and 8800gt that scored 12.3
__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 01:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 3dmark score, low?

seems low, do you have Vista? If you do its Vista, its dropping his score a bit
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Move over 3dMark: New OpenGL-based 3D benchmark Osiris Overclocking and Modding 31 11-12-2007 01:39 AM
low err not so low fps? 1337infamous New Systems | Building and Buying 20 10-05-2007 10:13 PM
3dmark question taintedplay New Systems | Building and Buying 41 09-10-2007 03:14 PM
3d mark score messed up baron5 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-12-2007 09:50 AM
ATI R600 2006 3dMark score with screenshot hmammen New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-16-2007 05:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.