3D Modeling Graphics Card Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2008, 06:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 249
Default 3D Modeling Graphics Card Help

I'm looking to buy a new graphics card for my work computer. I model 3D interior layouts using SketchUp. The model sizes are getting larger and larger as out project get larger. I'm currently working on a 26MB file that is nearly halfway done. I'm looking to spend around $500 on a new card, most likely a Quaddro because I hear good things. I am having trouble deciding between them though. My current set-up is pretty solid, except is is not built for 3D modeling. Here are my specs.:

HP m7674N
Intel Core 2 Duo 6400
2 GB RAM
Nvidia 8800GTS 640MB PCI x16
Dual Monitors

Software:
Windows XP SP2
Sketchup Version 6

I am concerned about what on the surface appears to be a downgrade in GPU speed and memory size. All I can really settle on is that the Quaddro are designed for OpenGL which is what SketchUp uses. Even my current card becomes jittery when processing all of the geometry. PLEASE HELP!!!

PS- All my drivers are up to date. I will also be selling my current card when I buy the new one.
__________________

Timaphillips is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 10:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 249
Default Re: 3D Modeling Graphics Card Help

***top***
__________________

Timaphillips is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 12:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: 3D Modeling Graphics Card Help

are you having trouble running the program with your current video card?
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 12:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 249
Default Re: 3D Modeling Graphics Card Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by IBM/PS1 View Post
are you having trouble running the program with your current video card?

Yes. I know the programming for Sketchup isn't exactly made for top notch performance, but a strictly OpenGL card should help quite a bit, right? My current card has a delay in drawing the lines in, especially when certain components (groups) are more detailed. I've turned off all of the bells and whistles such as shadows and line extensions, textures, etc. Also, I have to run it at 0x Anti-Alias for it to not get all buggy on me. NOT what I expected from this high end of a card.
Timaphillips is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 01:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: 3D Modeling Graphics Card Help

I can kinda relate to what your saying. I do sets and storyboards using frameforge 3D studio. When i get more than 20 objects on screen at once it get's really choppy and slow.
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 02:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: 3D Modeling Graphics Card Help

Well first of all, that card is not high end. Second of all, its not made for what you want to do. If you get a quadro, then you wont have the problem as those are made for 3d rendering apps.

Newegg.com - PNY VCQFX1700-PCIE-PB Quadro FX1700 512MB 128-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail

That should help a lot, but take in consideration that the processor can be affecting it as well. Later on if you can, build a new system and you should be okay for a while.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 02:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 249
Default Re: 3D Modeling Graphics Card Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
Well first of all, that card is not high end. Second of all, its not made for what you want to do. If you get a quadro, then you wont have the problem as those are made for 3d rendering apps.

Newegg.com - PNY VCQFX1700-PCIE-PB Quadro FX1700 512MB 128-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail

That should help a lot, but take in consideration that the processor can be affecting it as well. Later on if you can, build a new system and you should be okay for a while.

It's not ultra-high end, but it certainly is not mainstream....but soon it will be given the tech. cycle. But I digress...thanks for the link. My only concern is that 128 bit GDDR2 would be trumped by something that is GDDR3.
Timaphillips is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 03:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 3D Modeling Graphics Card Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timaphillips View Post
It's not ultra-high end, but it certainly is not mainstream....but soon it will be given the tech. cycle. But I digress...thanks for the link. My only concern is that 128 bit GDDR2 would be trumped by something that is GDDR3.
but thats probably the best you can get for around $500, good gddr3 cards designed for 3d modeling are around 1 or 2k....

also look for some ATi FireGL cards too
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 03:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: 3D Modeling Graphics Card Help

Here i found this, its actually 512mb and gddr4

Newegg.com - ATI 100-505511 FireGL V5600 512MB PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail
ATI FireGL V5600 Video Card - 512MB GDDR4, PCI Express, (Dual Link) Dual DVI, Workstation, Video Card 100-505511 at TigerDirect.com
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 03:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 249
Default Re: 3D Modeling Graphics Card Help


ATI huh? I always hear bad things about their drivers. And that review doesn't sound promising...haha
__________________

Timaphillips is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics card problems (?) TommyGun Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-28-2007 09:53 AM
Graphics card upgrade TFB New Systems | Building and Buying 29 12-01-2007 12:09 PM
Buying Graphics card tonight Adam2k7 System Upgrades 17 10-04-2007 09:40 PM
Won't go onto Windows Logon or Accounts through graphics card, but will on shared gfx Linked Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-28-2007 09:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.