3870x2 Problems!! Please Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2008, 05:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 41
Default 3870x2 Problems!! Please Help!

okay first of all, one of the red lights on the front of the card is illuminated, and when I open up the system info window within the Catalyst control center it says theres only 512MBs of memory as opposed to 1gb...I assume this is becaused one of the GPUs is not functioning, why is this, and how in the world can I fix it! thank you.
__________________

StoolKitten is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 06:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: 3870x2 Problems!! Please Help!

Hmm, did you enable crossfire?
__________________

__________________
Runnin' Stock, Cool, Quiet and Fast
Q6700
Thermaltake Big Typhoon w/ Scythe Kama PWN Fan
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum 4x2GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB RAID 0
HD Radeon 3450 *Temp* *8800GT SLI Coming*
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD Monitor + 17" Samsung Sync Master 750
Antec TruePower Trio 650 Watt
Power Up Standard
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
darksideleader is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 07:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 41
Default Re: 3870x2 Problems!! Please Help!

how does one enable crossfire? I only have one card, with the two gpu's
StoolKitten is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 08:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: 3870x2 Problems!! Please Help!

mine is the same too, wtf.

*bump*
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 08:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 41
Default Re: 3870x2 Problems!! Please Help!

hello?? hasnt anyone else encountered the same or a similar problem and found a solution?? COME ON FOLKS!!
StoolKitten is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 01:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: 3870x2 Problems!! Please Help!

um in the ATI catyst, it should say something like enable crossfire with a box, check mark that box. Also go on the amd website for the newest drivers.
__________________
Runnin' Stock, Cool, Quiet and Fast
Q6700
Thermaltake Big Typhoon w/ Scythe Kama PWN Fan
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum 4x2GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB RAID 0
HD Radeon 3450 *Temp* *8800GT SLI Coming*
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD Monitor + 17" Samsung Sync Master 750
Antec TruePower Trio 650 Watt
Power Up Standard
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
darksideleader is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 02:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 3870x2 Problems!! Please Help!

He's got the HD3870x2, not two HD3870's guys

but I don't think it should say 1gb RAM, because its really not 1gb, its 512mb per GPU
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 03:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 41
Default Re: 3870x2 Problems!! Please Help!

lol are people really that dense here, I clearly stated that I had the 3870x2 NOT TWO 3870's ....


*edit*
yea but shouldnt it at least recognize the fact that there are two seperate yet simulataneously functioning processors present within the unit?? like 512x2 or something....it just doesnt seem right and i cant help but feel im not getting the maximum preformance out of the card either...
StoolKitten is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 03:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 3870x2 Problems!! Please Help!

Well its not their fault, when people wanted to say Dual HD3870's they used to say HD3870 x2, so I see where the confusion came from, and FYI nobody HERE is dense

I doubt that its not running truly, run a video game and/or 3dmark06, and we'll tell you if something truly is wrong and give us a 3dmark06 score on Stock
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 08:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 41
Default Re: 3870x2 Problems!! Please Help!

k sorry for the condesention, just my frustration spilling inappropriately outward...but yea im downloading 3dmark06 as i type so ill let you know soon...
__________________

StoolKitten is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possibly motherboard problems? zdozbou Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-11-2008 07:30 PM
Apple Acknowledges Some MacBook Hard Drive Problems Osiris Apple and Mac 7 04-02-2008 06:27 AM
problems viewing some webpages sehana Internet Software and Browsers 4 07-30-2007 03:41 PM
AVG Free problems,, TomW Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 05-08-2007 09:08 AM
Some MacBooks May Have Battery Problems Osiris Apple and Mac 0 04-27-2007 05:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.