3870 X2 Now Available - Page 8 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2008, 09:31 PM   #71 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 31
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

Newegg.com - ASUS EAH3870X2/G/HTDI/1G Radeon HD 3870 X2 1GB (512MB x 2) 512-bit (256-bit x 2) GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Retail
yep sweetie-pie
__________________

tmd07 is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 11:57 PM   #72 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
Your curret PSU will run them fine. a 3870 X2 uses less power than an Nvidia G80-based card, or ATI R600 card.
and solder the unpowered pins on the card to adjacent pins.
the connector just has 4 +12V wires (yellow), and 4 ground wires (black). Pretty redundant really. The only reason it has so many wires, is to distribute the current.
most of the reviews ive read show that the HD 3870 x2 consumes around 300-400w on load.........ON LOAD!!!!

i have Z-2200 2.1 speakers that probably consume around 100 or so watts. I need a better PSU if i want to get a second one. I wont be able to get an HD 3870 x2 until around Feb 22nd-25th.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 12:08 AM   #73 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
I don't think that's right. 3870 uses 105W, which is massively less than R600 or G80 (less than half), and less than an 8800 GT by a small amount.
at idle, the 3870's are underclocked to 300MHZ, and use much less power than 8800 GT's.

I would think that a card with two RV670's would have a TDP of ~210W or maybe slightly more.

I'm pretty sure G80 uses about 230-250W or so under load, and R600 uses about 280W
So, what, you think they just made up numbers? Don't they hook up actual volt/amp meters on those tests?
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 12:38 AM   #74 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
most of the reviews ive read show that the HD 3870 x2 consumes around 300-400w on load.........ON LOAD!!!!

For the last time... Total System Draw, NOT the card by itself...
Ste is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 05:48 AM   #75 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
I don't think that's right. 3870 uses 105W, which is massively less than R600 or G80 (less than half), and less than an 8800 GT by a small amount.
Please look at those

http://techreport.com/r.x/radeon-hd-...power-load.gif

http://images.hardwarecanucks.com/im...D3870X2-72.JPG

http://images.tomshardware.com/2008/...2/image007.png

http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/images...QmN9sX_7_2.gif

All of them are showing that HD3870 X2 consume more power than G80 at full load

Do you think that those are fake as well ?! LOL !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
most of the reviews ive read show that the HD 3870 x2 consumes around 300-400w on load.........ON LOAD!!!!
Thank you
maroon1 is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 09:16 AM   #76 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

The difference between a single 8800GTX and the 3870X2 is 36W, and we're talking about TWO GPUs here...

and just remember that this is total system draw, as Apokalipse has said. AND... they are measuring from wall, so this does not represent wattage from the PSU... two completely different things. A simple 520HX or 500HE can handle this card with plenty of leg room.

Without a doubt though, it does consume the most power out of all the current cards in existence, but then again, it is the most powerful to date...
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 12:02 PM   #77 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
For the last time... Total System Draw, NOT the card by itself...
maroon1: ^^


Get it through your heads people. Total System draw, not the card itself....
Ste is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 12:29 PM   #78 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

Total System draw..............never heard of that!

gosh i feel stupid. Looks like i can plan on getting those 2 Sapphire HD 3870 x2s without any problem? (one around Feb. 25th, another later this year probably)

Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100221SR Radeon HD 3870 X2 1GB (512MB x 2) 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Retail
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 12:37 PM   #79 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
Total System draw..............never heard of that!
thats probably because they usually don't show power consumption in total system draw... i think?
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 12:46 PM   #80 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThirdLeft152 View Post
thats probably because they usually don't show power consumption in total system draw... i think?
Actually all of the graphs are Total system Draw unless they Explicitely state otherwise.

You people actually believed and X2 used 300 to 400 watts all by its little self??!
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a HD 3870 to my HD 2900xt 1GB Wog2000 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 01-12-2008 04:06 PM
His 3870 Poizen22 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 01-09-2008 10:41 PM
ATI: 2900 pro 1GB DDR4 (vs)**new 3870? XxvigilancexX System Upgrades 25 11-23-2007 09:39 PM
8800gt Vs 3870 nhlrocker New Systems | Building and Buying 12 11-16-2007 08:00 PM
Radeon HD 3850, 3870 Specs Leaked Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 11-06-2007 11:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.