3870 X2 Now Available - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2008, 10:42 PM   #51 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 347
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

I am sure because the reviews I was reading earlier said only for testing purposes that they were using just two 6 pin PCIe connectors, but why not get the converter anyways?

I plan on using two of these in CF and my ABS Tagen BZ 1100W has all the necessary cables stock.
__________________

Alexinator is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 11:58 PM   #52 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexinator View Post
I am sure because the reviews I was reading earlier said only for testing purposes that they were using just two 6 pin PCIe connectors, but why not get the converter anyways?

I plan on using two of these in CF and my ABS Tagen BZ 1100W has all the necessary cables stock.
well my psu is the corsair 620hx so i think i should be fine if i insert both the 6pin connectors.
im thinking of stepping up to the new nvidia card or sell my gts and get the new ati card....hmmm
decisions to be made.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 01:01 AM   #53 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

why do i keep hearing watts arent important... bullcrap!!!! whats are important, i dunno how much i've heard around about 650 being okay w/ sli gtx's .... WRONG....

520 will probably be okay if you don't wanna do any big overclocking.. but if you plan on doing so.. get at least 600watt...

the wattage would be true if they stopped making power hungry cards...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 01:07 AM   #54 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
why do i keep hearing watts arent important... bullcrap!!!! whats are important, i dunno how much i've heard around about 650 being okay w/ sli gtx's .... WRONG....

520 will probably be okay if you don't wanna do any big overclocking.. but if you plan on doing so.. get at least 600watt...

the wattage would be true if they stopped making power hungry cards...
i wanted to be safe so tahts why i went with the 620..and im happy with it.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 02:04 AM   #55 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
i wanted to be safe so tahts why i went with the 620..and im happy with it.
same i went 700w, but idk if i can still support 2 HD 3870 x2's now. I kind a want to OC it (once i get one that is) a little bit but still be on the safe side. I was able to do this with my 6600 LE but it only went up like 50MHz.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 07:55 AM   #56 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
im in trouble! I dont see any HD 3870 x2 that come with a molex to 8-pin connectors! I only have 6-pin! What do i do now???
that's nothing a soldering iron can't fix.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 08:31 AM   #57 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

You can plug the 6 pin connectors into the 8 pin plug
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 08:43 AM   #58 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
check this out. I found a PSU list of certified PSU products from AMD:

CrossFire™ - Certified - Build-Your-Own - CrossFire Certified Power Supplies

EDIT:

PSUs certified for the HD 3870 x2

EDIT 2:

check this out! I just came across a Sapphire brand HD 3870 x2 that comes with a 1 molex to 8 pin converter!! OMG!! I'm gonna get this baby no doubt! I probably wont have to get a new PSU, unless my PSU, which has 72amps i think, is enough to handle it.
Your curret PSU will run them fine. a 3870 X2 uses less power than an Nvidia G80-based card, or ATI R600 card.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
You can plug the 6 pin connectors into the 8 pin plug
and solder the unpowered pins on the card to adjacent pins.
the connector just has 4 +12V wires (yellow), and 4 ground wires (black). Pretty redundant really. The only reason it has so many wires, is to distribute the current.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 08:43 AM   #59 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
You can plug the 6 pin connectors into the 8 pin plug
well i just remember the corsair 620 came with 2 6 pin connecters and then an extra 2 pin thing...
i was confused about taht but now i remember what it was for.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 10:42 AM   #60 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

I think i'm going to just stick with my SLI GTS512 setup until my stepup expires or the 9800GTX comes out, whichever comes first. Then i'll decide what to do.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a HD 3870 to my HD 2900xt 1GB Wog2000 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 01-12-2008 04:06 PM
His 3870 Poizen22 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 01-09-2008 10:41 PM
ATI: 2900 pro 1GB DDR4 (vs)**new 3870? XxvigilancexX System Upgrades 25 11-23-2007 09:39 PM
8800gt Vs 3870 nhlrocker New Systems | Building and Buying 12 11-16-2007 08:00 PM
Radeon HD 3850, 3870 Specs Leaked Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 11-06-2007 11:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.