3870 X2 Now Available - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2008, 12:58 PM   #31 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgcook View Post
there are 5 brands..not just 5 cards.
thats what i meant

thats my bad for not being very clear.
__________________

__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 01:47 PM   #32 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Yes, they require you to send them a copy of the invoice/receipt from the card. My GTS320 had a rebate and i stepped it up with no issues.

Heh, matter of fact, i never even submitted an invoice for my GTS320, but then again, i stepped down in a sense, as the GT was less than i paid for my GTS320.
thanks.

well i know with nvidia the good brands are xfx,evga, bfg...
what are the good or the best brand names for ati cards?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is online now  
Old 01-28-2008, 03:29 PM   #33 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

powercolor is the actual maker of most of the cards if i recall. All of the ati cards i have ever had were branded ATI rather than other companies.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 05:29 PM   #34 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

Asus makes a great ATI card.
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 05:43 PM   #35 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 347
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

I've always heard ASUS as the mainstream ATI manufacturer. And actually, if any of you were paying attention, the ASUS 3870 x2 cards were the first out of stock at NewEgg.
Alexinator is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 07:17 PM   #36 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

alex, havnt seen you in a while!

well i also see visontek, diamond, saphire so i was jw.

if i could sell this gts i would deff get this new ati card.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is online now  
Old 01-28-2008, 08:31 PM   #37 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 347
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

Release of the 3870 X2s? This changes EVERYTHING! Help on deciding

Yeah, here's my thread. I'm giving up 8800GTX WCed in SLI for two of these heh.

(I'm upgrading big time in TWO WEEKS (excited) Masimus Extreme, ddr3 1600, two 3870 X2s (Can't wait for the x-fire drivers for these) and a QX9650)
Alexinator is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 08:53 PM   #38 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

Release of the 3870 X2s? This changes EVERYTHING! Help on deciding

your link still resides in the old TF
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 08:58 PM   #39 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by charles_scott View Post
Guess your gonna have to buy a new precious PSU to power the new toys :-p
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Sounds like a great excuse for an upgrade, that's for sure.
crap man! This sucks balls! Some of u guys told me that AMD would include an 8pin converter too. What i can do is try calling Xclio n AMD to see if they can provide me a molex to 8pin converter. If not, then i guess ill have to wait until March to get a new PSU n HD 3870 x2.

idk what to do with this PSU to now . My PSU was retailed at $109 from newegg, but now it's at $129. So..................anyone want to buy my PSU for........$90 or $85? Name a price. In the mean time, i got to do basic design homework n look for a new PSU.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 09:08 PM   #40 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 347
Default Re: 3870 X2 Now Available

You can run the card with two 6-Pin connectors, wildside. It runs just fine, however if you ever plan to overclock them you'll need the 8-pin. Just get it now and wait to upgrade the PSU, or whatever.
__________________

Alexinator is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a HD 3870 to my HD 2900xt 1GB Wog2000 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 01-12-2008 04:06 PM
His 3870 Poizen22 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 01-09-2008 10:41 PM
ATI: 2900 pro 1GB DDR4 (vs)**new 3870? XxvigilancexX System Upgrades 25 11-23-2007 09:39 PM
8800gt Vs 3870 nhlrocker New Systems | Building and Buying 12 11-16-2007 08:00 PM
Radeon HD 3850, 3870 Specs Leaked Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 11-06-2007 11:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.