3850 goes AGP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2008, 03:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default 3850 goes AGP

AGP based HD 3850s show up :: TweakTown
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 04:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: 3850 goes AGP

Awesome, now i dont have to bring down the hopes of people who think they have a PCI-E slot but only have an AGP (The noobs...).
__________________

zedman3d is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 04:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: 3850 goes AGP

Nice, wonder what the price will be.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 04:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: 3850 goes AGP

I'm suprised. Are there any AGP mobos out there that can deal with the kind of rest-of-system performance that a 3850 warrants? I thought AGP was just dying out.
Andyf is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 04:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to Okitasoshi
Default Re: 3850 goes AGP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andyf View Post
I'm suprised. Are there any AGP mobos out there that can deal with the kind of rest-of-system performance that a 3850 warrants? I thought AGP was just dying out.
ya know, it died out a bit ago, I say when the 7-series came out was the best time to switch over to PCI-E.

I'm still stuck on AGP. although I plan on upgrading when 45nm Intel or B3 stepping phenom comes out. As much as I'd like to breathe new life into my AGP system, I can't justify spending anything on it, except for a PSU which can be transplanted.
Okitasoshi is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 05:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
mal
True Techie
 
mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 179
Default Re: 3850 goes AGP

Very interesting ,
I was going to pay thousands for a new system ,but this card might worth the try !
mal is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 05:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 3850 goes AGP

Quote:
Originally Posted by mal View Post
Very interesting ,
I was going to pay thousands for a new system ,but this card might worth the try !
TBH your ancient cpu would bottleneck the 3850
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 05:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to Okitasoshi
Default Re: 3850 goes AGP

Agreed, and the 3850 would probably cost $220~+ because it's AGP. I suggest getting an Intel system something like...

E2140
HD3850
2gig Ram
good mobo and good PSU

you'll probably be in the good for about $700.


then you can upgrade to a Quad or better Dual core when the 45nm's come out.
Okitasoshi is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 06:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: 3850 goes AGP

There are literally millions of computers still going that have AGP slots. It would be crazy not to try to sell to that market.

Sure, an older CPU won't be able to keep up (see above), but that would be the only limiting factor. I know I plan on milking my current system as long as I can, and others will want to do the same.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radeon X1950 Pro AGP replacement? Looby System Upgrades 20 12-13-2007 06:39 PM
Still having problems with AGP card arian487 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 23 12-03-2007 06:28 PM
PCI vs. AGP vs. PCI-E buyer's guide Dakaggo System Upgrades 3 11-21-2007 08:54 PM
Radeon HD 3850, 3870 Specs Leaked Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 11-06-2007 11:03 AM
Using an 8X agp card in a 4X slot rivitingone Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-25-2007 07:48 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.