a 3800+ and x2 3800+ comparison question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2005, 03:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Default a 3800+ and x2 3800+ comparison question

hey all,
comparing the AMD athlon 64 3800+ and the x2 3800+, which do you think would be better for a gaming computer? i would have thought the x2, but the ghz is lower, and most gaming isn't multi tasking. which would be the better choice?

thanks
__________________

Zer4tyr is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 04:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

your video card is more important to gaming.
personally I'd go with the X2, even if i is a bit slower in gaming. it makes up for it in other things
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 05:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 327
Default

i heard that future games will run better on dual core. O_o
__________________
gimli of gloin is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 07:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yup, they will.
and current games will run fine on an X2 3800, even only using one of its cores.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 07:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

does FEAR utilize the whole two cores or just some of it?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 10:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I heard that FEAR runs spectacularly on a single core. They can't make it work that much better on dual core otherwise they'd kill the consumer market. It does use both cores, but barely. The gameplay is almost the same.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 01:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426
Default

go with the X2. where i would be conficted is comparing the X2 3800 and the 4000 SD. tough call there.
__________________
I\'m happy with it.
X2 4400+
ATI X1800 XT
2x1gb Corsair XMS CL2
1 Raptor 74 gig
ABIT AN8 Ultra
OCZ Powerstream 520w
BColes is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 12:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Default

hmmm.... well thanks, ill go with the x2. the forums go quick here, i had to go back three pages *mild profanity*
__________________

Zer4tyr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.