3800 dual core?? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2006, 09:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

from the benchmarks we have seen.........the AM2 is really not worth it.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 09:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

guys i have a quick question........is there any higher lvl than Monster Techie, cause i wanted to get the highest then change the text in that area.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 09:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

Na I dont think there is anything higher, but dont take it from me cause I am not higher than a monster techie. BTW isnt the Conroe going to be kick ***?
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 09:45 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by john3
guys i have a quick question........is there any higher lvl than Monster Techie, cause i wanted to get the highest then change the text in that area.
Lmao.

Quote:
Originally posted by slick_tech15
Na I dont think there is anything higher, but dont take it from me cause I am not higher than a monster techie. BTW isnt the Conroe going to be kick ***?
That's what everyone is saying. Is there any benchmarks or anything out about it that is that interesting?
cyrax is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 09:59 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

yeah there are, the Conroe i think was OC'd to 2.8 or 2.6GHz ( started at 2.2 or 2.4) and the FX-60 OC'd to 2.7 or 2.8 i forget. They OC a new generation CPU more than they do the older generation CPU and they expect the FX-60 to win, in fact the FX only lost by about 11% on average......so thats pretty good......imagine what it could do if it was OCd more than 100-200MHz.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 12:54 AM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

Lord Techie at 6000. The 3800+ or 4600+ i believe are the best bets now or an Opteron 165/170
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 04:23 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i wouldn't agree on the 4600+. certainly the opty 165 and 3800+ and also the 4400+ though
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 12:23 PM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

Oh yea cause the 4400+ is the same thing as 4600+. My bad, i said the wrong thing.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 12:38 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Unless the there is a dual-core patch or dual-core support for the game you want to play no.

For example ...

Athlon 64 3200+ - $150
512k L2 cache
2.0ghz

Athlon 64 x2 3800+ - $300
512k(x2) L2 cache
2.0ghz

The Athlon 64 x2 3800+ would perform exactly the same as the Athlon 64 3200+ because since only one core of the dual-core 3800+ can be utilized, it's just as powerful as the single core 3200+. Remember, even the 2x512k that is doubled on the dual-core model can only be used as 512k because each core strictly has 512k of L2 cache.

However, more and more games are beginning to take advantage of dual-core, so it's a good idea to do dual-core if possible.

Remember, this only applies to non dual-core supported games, dual-core supporting or patched games will crush single-core processors.

If you like to run other applications and multi-task during gaming though, the dual-cores will run significantly faster than the single core, because one of the cores can be devoted to gaming while the other can be used for any other applications you are running at the same time.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 12:58 PM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

THats the exact reason why i said that my 3800+ owns at Oblivion and FEAR. THey are multithreaded and you dont REALLY need anything over 3200+ anyways.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.