3800 dual core?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2006, 01:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 66
Default 3800 dual core??

Right now i have a 3500+ single core if i where to upgrade to a 3800+ dual core both in stock speeds would i notice a big enough difference in performance in games and everything for it to be worth it? or howbout the 4200+dual

thanks
__________________

jeff34 is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 02:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

games these days dont utilize both cores but will in the near future, i say jump on the upgrade if you have the money, get the 4200
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 02:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 66
Default

but would i really be worth it?
jeff34 is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 02:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

for gaming alone you would probably see a performance defecit in single threaded games, unless you have a lot of background processes.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 02:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Default

I just built an HP last night with the 4400 X2 for multimedia purposes. The guy tried to sell me a Intel 940 for $80 more but from what I have heard the 4400 should run circles around the 940 with multimedia and gaming. Is that right?
tluv00 is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 02:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it should do, i think they may be fairly close in encoding and the Intel may win out in graphics editing but in general and especially in gaming the 4400+ should win
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 04:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

For Oblivion and FEAR their are patches for the Dual Cores and i run circles around my friends 4000+ San Diego on these games and everyday tasks. The 4200+ isnt worth the extra dough. Just OC coupe hunder mhz and youll have a 4200+ from a 3800+.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 04:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

dont get the 4200, it has little cache, eitheer the 3800 or the 4400 or the Opteron 165.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 09:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

IMO, it isnt really worth the upgrade right now. Your CPU is still pretty good. I would just wait for the next line of proccessors to come out, which shouldn't be long from now.
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 09:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Which the AM2 would be worth it? Buy an X2 3800+ and join the wagon WOOT Go dual core
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.