3800+ or 4400+? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2006, 08:46 AM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

ill sell you mine if you really want it, but i hope your not going for likes 3.4ghz speeds because thats what i wanted and i can only go to 2.8 stable.

so its your choice, id go with the opty though.
__________________

wtk pro l is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 10:38 AM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Don't be fooled by the whole "it can't reach 4800+ speeds because it doesn't have 2 x 1MB cache". While yes, it has 2 x 512kb cache, the performance wouldn't be noticable. It's starting to get annoying that people keep telling other people that the Opty 165 will "overclock 2 times as much as the X2" because that is totally untrue. A 3800+ can OC to the same range as the 165.

Just to let you people know s939 Opterons are Athlon 64s and are not "higher quality silicon". They are clocked lower making them more stable (which is important if your running a server).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AMD_Opt...-core_Opterons

Go down to where it says Low-end: Socket 939. It will tell you that the single core Opterons are Athlon 64 San Diego cores, it doesn't tell you though that the dual-core Opterons are Toledo cores.
__________________

Waphlez is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 10:40 AM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

and the pattern from AMD's p-ratings provides us enough info to determine that a 100mhz or less overclock offsets the difference from the doubled cache
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 07:38 PM   #24 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

OPTERON 165 definitey of if your going to OC, dont even think about the 4200+, its garbage. heres a suggestoin, between now and when you order, read A LOT about OCing, then buy the Opteron 165, and u can get it to minimum 2.4GHz on stock cooling, 2 guys here got theirs to 2.8Ghz on stock cooling, you can go higher on liquide cooling im sure, probably past 3GHz.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 07:40 PM   #25 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

4200's aren't crap, they're...just not worth it.


Jesus John3, you've got a lot of posts in under 2 months!!
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 07:41 PM   #26 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

I'd either get the Opty or the 4400+. by the time u save for the 4400+ the new socket will be out (or almost out) and the price will most likely drop on all the s939 CPUs.
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 08:01 PM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

I meant that on cooling, you won't get an x2 3800+ on air, stock cooling beyond 2.4ghz ...
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 08:02 PM   #28 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

What is the best mobo for OCing the opteron 165? DFI Ultra-D?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 08:13 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

i have an dfi sli-dr expert. i like it. good bios features.
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 08:48 PM   #30 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

"I meant that on cooling, you won't get an x2 3800+ on air, stock cooling beyond 2.4ghz ..."

still not true, mine was more than stable at 2.5ghz and was booted at 2.65-2.7ghz but wasn't stable with stock cooling
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.