3800+ or 4400+? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2006, 05:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 145
Default 3800+ or 4400+?

The AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ I'm looking at is $295
The AMD Athlon64 X2 4400+ I'm looking at is $458

I'll be able to afford the 3800+ in around a week or so, but it'll be late May to early June before I can afford the 4400+. Should I get the 3800+ soon or wait a while and get the 4400+? I'm tempted to get the 3800+ but I know I'll be more satisfied if I wait to get the 4400+.

the 3800+ option also would allow me to get another component (maybe an X-Fi) in May or June because I'll have money and won't need a processor.
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.5Ghz | ASUS A8N-SLI | 2GB Corsair XMS DDR400 [SIZE=\"1\"](2-3-3-6)[/SIZE] | eVGA GeForce 7900GT [SIZE=\"1\"](500/1500)[/SIZE] | 1TB of SATA harddrives | SB X-Fi | Antec TruePower2.0 550W
synth7 is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 06:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

get the 3800 and overclock it. The 4400+ is a good chip but its so expensive.
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 06:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

I just ordered the 4400+ yesterday for £313!!! thats pretty dam good considering thats UK with 17.5% vat on it. Its coming tomorrow. I would wait till u can get the 4400+ because this will easily clock up 200mhz then u have yourself a nice 4800+! it will even go higher than a 4800+. I seen people get it up to 2.7ghz on stock cooling! and it also has 2 x 1mb cache so thats worth it too.

Hope this helped.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 07:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Default

Instead, i'd get the 4200+, it can easily be OCed to surpass the 4400+ and you save money!! ^^
__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 07:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

The 4400+ is a good buy. You will get more use out of that from a 3800+ and whatever you used your "saved money" as.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 07:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by small256
Instead, i'd get the 4200+, it can easily be OCed to surpass the 4400+ and you save money!! ^^
You may well be able to overclock this to a 4400+ but thats why i said that the 4400+ can easily be overclocked up to a 4800+. i dont think a 4200+ will make it up to the speed of the 4800+ and it only has 2 x 512mb cache whereas the 4400+ has 2 x 1mb cache.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 07:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Default

Lol, good point. I was just thinking money terms!
__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 07:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Yeah but its much better. i would get the 4400+ overclock it to the 4800+ and then when dual core games come out you have an awesome processor to handle it!

thats what im going to do anyway.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 03:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

or you could get an opteron 165 and OC the **** out of it


Id go with he 3800, solid CPU...
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 03:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

ive got a 4400+. got it up to 3.0ghz yesterday. not stable though. i have a big typhoon.

i would say go with an opty, they overclock very well/
__________________

wtk pro l is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.