3800+ and 3700+ - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2006, 11:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by p0werslave
Uhhhhhhh no. The 3800 is better because it's dual core in terms of multi tasking, but for gaming the 3700 is better.
yah man single core 3800+ not the 3800+ X2

and duckmoose if you are not overclocking the 3800 works out better
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 11:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

no OC the 3800 is better
OC the 3700 is better because when you overclock it (well past 3800 speeds btw) you'll have the bigger cache which may be more beneficial at higher clock speeds
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 09:22 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 90
Default

i say the 3700 is much better because when it OC it can go past the 3800 and because of the cache, where as the 3800 will go past the 3700 in OC it will lose out because of the 512kb cache
juststarting123 is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 11:19 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default

take the cheaper one =p
__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 12:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Stock speeds, the 3800 is going to squeak ahead. That's why it carries the name "3800+". Those are speed ratings that AMD assigns their processors. The 3700+ is going to be slightly behind it because of the lower clock speeds. They have diferent cores, etc, etc...

The 3800 comes out on top with stock speeds, but the 3700+ offers more overclocking headroom

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 12:44 PM   #16 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

yea the 3700+ is the same core as the FX55 and FX57, yes?
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 01:54 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

yeah, they all have the San Diego core

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 03:13 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

I'm debating over the 4000 or the 3700. lol. Am i just crazy for not considering the 3800? If the only issue with OC is heat...and id have plenty of ventilation...then how easy is it to OC? just fudge some numbers in the Bios right? bus speed and....the multiplier? IDK much about OC but it seems simply.
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 03:29 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Quote:
The 3800 is better. 200 mhz makes a bigger increase in performace then a 1mb cache.
Not at all infact, why would you spend $50 or more on buying the 3800+, when you can buy the 3700+ (that the 3800+ can't touch no matter what), and then overclock it by a small 200mhz amount. Not only will it have the same operating frequency of the 3800+, but it will also have double the cache. Oh and you saved ~ $50
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 04:09 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Dude seriously. I said the 3700 is better for OCing but I was talking about stock settings. Not everyone OCs so enough with the OC thing.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.