3700 sandiego or 4000 clawhammer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2005, 08:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default 3700 sandiego or 4000 clawhammer

ok looking for some opinions. Price is not a consideration because I have both chips. Would you use a 3700+ san diego of a 4000+ clawhammer. It seems to me the major difference is sse3 support and the clawhameer runs a 1.5v versus 1.4v. I have an after market heatsink so heat is not aproblem. At this point I have no plans to OC. benchmarks run 1 to 2% faster on the 4000+.
Thanks for the input.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 08:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

4000+ just cuz of the 200Mhz boost if u dont plan on OCing, too bad u dont have the 4000 san diego core instead
__________________

Spartan is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 08:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Doesnt the 3700 have 1mb cache and the 4000 has 512? I would go with the 3700. Overclock it 200mhz to 4000 speeds if it makes you happy and save the money and get the 512 more cache.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 08:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

he says he doesnt want to OC
Spartan is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 08:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

or 3700 opteron
Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 08:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

Why wouldn't you want to OC, just a question, overclocking about 200mhz is pretty safe and if you have all your settings right you probably won't notice much temperature difference with AS5 and stock heatsink.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 08:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

i have no idea, i would definitely reccomend it
Spartan is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 09:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

yeah i wish i had the 4000 san diego. both cores have 1mb cache. Dont need to OC right now cause the system runs eveything just fine. I agree 200mhz is pretty low. In the future I most likely will speed it up. thanks for the imput. I think I will stay with the 4000+ and not put the 3700+ back in. btw way I got it for free and thought it was the san diego. was a little dissapointed when I ran cpu-z on it.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 09:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

dude, use the 3700+. just oc it 200mhz, which you can do EASILY on stock cooling. Stock cooling for my 3700+sd got me to 2.7GHz. Aftermarket cooling got me to 2.75 GHz
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 09:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

3700 San Diego all the way. The San Diego is a beast at OCing, and San Diego > Clawhammer any day anway
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.