3700+ San Diego @ 2.9 Ghz vs FX-57 - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2006, 05:28 PM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

FYI the reasons you're having trouble going any higher is because your LDT ratio and HTT speed are out of whack...you need to lower your LDT ratio to 3x if you plan on going over 250HTT and I'm suprised it's stable right now although I assume it's not 100% load stable
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 05:32 PM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

If you manually set it at 4x then but if its at auto or something it will automatically lower for you, so i just keep it at auto

nice job on the OC, go for the 3GHz!!
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 05:48 PM   #23 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

yes ur deffinetly beating the fx 57, thats about all thats to it. AMD is trippin off there balls for tryin to sell a chip for so much. and i would never buy a cpu my self for more than 240$ overclocking deffinetly extended your dollar.
burned-ati is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 06:35 PM   #24 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Quote:
thought you had to lower your LDT multi to 3 once you got over 250 HTT or you could fry your operating system or somethin. Anyone with more experience know for sure? I am still a bit of a nubcicle myself
Don't you want to keep it as close as possible to 1000MHz?
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 06:41 PM   #25 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 482
Default

reggie i think you are very confused. we are talking about the LDT multiplier, something totally different than what you are thinking of. Read Gaara's post, he is the most knowledgable person that has spoken on this thread. He basically knows everything

I agree with PZERO I bet you have LDT set to auto so it is just setting it to 3 for u.
__________________
Flying-Squirrel is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 07:14 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

You want the LDT x the HTT to about equal 1000MHz.

On stock it is a 5x multiplier and 200MHz HTT. 5 times 200 =1000

If you have the HTT at 250, then you would want a LDT of 4x
so 4 x 250 = 1000

Like Gaara said, just lower it to 3 after 250 HTT
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 07:31 PM   #27 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

vybuni))) i thought u were running your 3700 @ 3ghz?
burned-ati is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 07:34 PM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

I was, but took it down a notch to increase stability. 21+ hours on prime95 @2.95GHz, no probs and i could have kept it going.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 08:55 PM   #29 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Don't you want to keep it as close as possible to 1000MHz?
You want it below 1000MHz...the way the HTT has been developed specifically with the A64 memory controllers don't benefit from increased frequency

The best example I can come up with is the fact that the data being sent down the HTT is equivelent to five cars, and this is constant...the HTT can be considered a highway with five lanes at 1000MHz, and the highway is built on the edge of the cliff...basically the data can move smoothly at the current speed and increasing it won't improve performance and will only lead to instability since you build a lane off the edge of the cliff and a car drives down it and breaks it

You may also have to bump up LDT voltage to sustain those high HTT speeds but that won't be until 280++
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 09:03 PM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

Hearing about all these people getting these 3700+ faster the FX-57 is making me want one more and more.

could a 4000+ oc up to 3Ghz or is that pretty much a oc'ed version of teh 3700+
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.