3700 or 3800? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2006, 04:34 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 59
Default

but you can o/c the 3800+ to 2.8 with good cooling and like 2.65 on stock. i have a 3800+ am2 orleans
__________________

__________________
i traded my computer for a paintball gun :D
epikz is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 04:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 53
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NosBoost300
3800 is venus?? i thought venus was 1mb cache.. seeing as my 146 is a venus core (cpu-z says so at least) and is 1 mb cache..
Difference between Venice (name of city in Italy) and Venus (2nd planet from the Sun).
__________________

AntiKryptonite is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 04:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

ahhh haha.. misread.. thanks for the correction
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 05:11 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

i still say the 3800+
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 05:15 PM   #15 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

what for??? the 3700 has double the cache... and can oc to fx57 speeds.. iknow the jump from my 3500 to opteron 146 was a noticeable jump with multiple applications, the extra cache gave it a nice umph
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 05:27 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Venice and San Diego are both excelent cores. The cache really doesn't make much of a difference. I'd say go with the cheapest.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 05:36 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 53
Default

I agree, the cache on an A64 makes a .1Ghz difference in terms of clockspeed performance. A 2.4GHz 512KB A64 is faster than a 2.2GHz 1MB A64.
__________________

AntiKryptonite is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.