32" tv as monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2008, 05:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London
Posts: 38
Default 32" tv as monitor

hi, i know this idea gets tossed around alot...but i was thinking about buying a 32" lcd tv and using it instead of my standard 19" lcd, and would be using my pc as more of a htpc, so it would be used for all media things as well as some gameplaying and work, obviously i wouldnt sit 10" away from it like a regular monitor but have it across the room, i knw theres a huge resolution drop. wondered what you guys thought?
__________________

jwest is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 05:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: 32" tv as monitor

well there is 720p and 1080p. Id reccomend 1808p. Ive used both, and 1080 all the way. 720p looks big and bulky. Get one with HDMI, and use that.
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 08:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: 32" tv as monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by taintedplay View Post
well there is 720p and 1080p. Id reccomend 1808p. Ive used both, and 1080 all the way. 720p looks big and bulky. Get one with HDMI, and use that.
i think he means 1080p not 1808p.
__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 08:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Re: 32" tv as monitor

no way if you can get 1808 then go for it!! but yeah get 1080p, it blows away a 720p tv.
__________________

Sig by Nosboost300
Prophet is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 09:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: 32" tv as monitor

hmm? OH, lol, typo on my part, sorry. I meant 1080p
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 09:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: 32" tv as monitor

thats if your videocard can handle the 1920 by 1080 resolution anyway.
you won't find much 32" 1080p's
Interlaced looks like crap so you wanna avoid 1080i
normal 720p resolution is 1280 by 720, but check the max resolution on the TV, on most 720p tvs you'll find a decent resolution of 1360 by 768.
__________________
Runnin' Stock, Cool, Quiet and Fast
Q6700
Thermaltake Big Typhoon w/ Scythe Kama PWN Fan
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum 4x2GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB RAID 0
HD Radeon 3450 *Temp* *8800GT SLI Coming*
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD Monitor + 17" Samsung Sync Master 750
Antec TruePower Trio 650 Watt
Power Up Standard
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
darksideleader is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 11:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: 32" tv as monitor

i'm pretty sure any Video Card.. (not integrated) can handle 1080p.. its not exactly a large resolution

and i sit roughly 3 feet from my 40 inch tv and it works out just fine... but i find myself playing mroe ps3 on it now! so i may have to buy a 24 inch monitor for it and play seperately
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 11:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: 32" tv as monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
i'm pretty sure any Video Card.. (not integrated) can handle 1080p.. its not exactly a large resolution

and i sit roughly 3 feet from my 40 inch tv and it works out just fine... but i find myself playing mroe ps3 on it now! so i may have to buy a 24 inch monitor for it and play seperately
err yeah, i meant gaming wise most older videocards won't be able to handle that big of a resolution.

also check out the 780G motherboard by AMD. Handles blu-ray playing at 1080p perfectly.
__________________
Runnin' Stock, Cool, Quiet and Fast
Q6700
Thermaltake Big Typhoon w/ Scythe Kama PWN Fan
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum 4x2GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB RAID 0
HD Radeon 3450 *Temp* *8800GT SLI Coming*
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD Monitor + 17" Samsung Sync Master 750
Antec TruePower Trio 650 Watt
Power Up Standard
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
darksideleader is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 11:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: 32" tv as monitor

ya.. 780g is THE BEST onboard you can get... YOU CAN EVEN OVERCLOCK IT... which is nuts.. i was considering buying a micro atx 780g for a htpc
__________________

NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No boot power turns on but no signal in monitor ekw808 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 03-05-2008 12:01 PM
My monitor with the xbox 360 dwaynesox Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 10-16-2007 11:32 PM
Monitor resetting Screamsalvation Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 16 07-30-2007 03:58 PM
Dual Monitor Issue Ultra Steel Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-18-2007 08:03 AM
Looking for a new Computer Monitor ? Try this one.. Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-07-2007 09:26 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.