A 32'' Display - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2007, 11:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
objecterror's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 724
Question A 32'' Display

I would like to run a DVI output to a 32'' display, or atleast 26'' LCD t.v, the reasoning behind this monster display is that i can eliminate my huge triniton and fit it on a new desk. Then run things like my cable t.v, dvd player and systems all into one screen!

but, samsung(a favirote of mine) doesn't have many dvi t.vs, any other 'good' t.vs or suggestions?

i5 2400 @ 3.10Ghz | 16GB RAM | 500GB + 1TB | GTX 750Ti
objecterror is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 12:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: A 32'' Display

ok i can't recommend something good in the monitor stage, but i highly recommend that u don't game on that large monitor, expect large amounts of lag .... u need like a vid card upgrade if u intend on it....

I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 12:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
meat_helmet's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: A 32'' Display

Yeh im guessing cause you posted it in this section you might plan to use it for games...

You wouldnt be able to really, i mean you would need probablt an 8800GTX to game on something that huge.
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 01:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: A 32'' Display

if he's using to run "systems" do u mean a PS3 or xbox? cuz then you dont need an expensive GPU
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 10:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 268
Default Re: A 32'' Display

thats not true. you can certainly game on it, because most 32" lcd's are 720p giving a resolution of 1360 by 768 which is less pixels than a 19" lcd at 1440 by 900 (or whatever it is). I have a 37" at 1360 by 768 and run most games decently on it with a 7900gs. Usually, lcd tv's have a vga that you can use and it will work fine in most cases. If you don't like it, or if there is image tearing, you can use a dvi to hdmi adapter if your video card is hdcp enabled.
fastrandstrongr is offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 09:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
objecterror's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 724
Default Re: A 32'' Display

Love the feedback, so sorry i haven't gotten back to you on the matter further. The entire thing would cost me a bit, considering the new graphics unit i'd have to get, yes the 8800 i believe would be the best idea for me. and by system i mean xbox 360 all plugged into the single unit. Meaning my t.v signal and all of my channels are through one unit. this step is bachelor worthy mostly.

i5 2400 @ 3.10Ghz | 16GB RAM | 500GB + 1TB | GTX 750Ti
objecterror is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Build Won't Display ANYTHING mvpo.geo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 07-17-2007 01:19 AM
Triple monitors sans Xinerama? Greg Linux and Open Source 3 07-06-2007 12:55 PM
windows 2000 server display problem hiren Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 06-04-2007 12:31 AM
Widescreen Display (16:9) with Nvidia GeForce 7300le?? discoverydrafting Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-26-2007 03:43 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.