32 bit vs 64 bit - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2009, 10:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: ---------------------------------
Posts: 44
Default 32 bit vs 64 bit

Whats the different

what one is better for a high end cpu
__________________

xzxremixxzx is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 10:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: 32 bit vs 64 bit

search feature is key man.

Difference Between 32 Bit (x86) and 64 Bit (x64)
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 11:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: 32 bit vs 64 bit

It is more than just a CPU, it is the entire structure of the system. 64 bit system is theoretically twice as fast as a 32 bit one. Reason being 64 bits of data pass at one time, so it takes half the time to run commands. Sure you get support of more RAM, but the boards now adays don't really support a ton more than say 16 gig anyways.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 01-06-2009, 12:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: 32 bit vs 64 bit

For more than 3Gb ram 64bit OS is needed. Its a little more stable as well, generally. Just have to wait for games and programs to catch up and release in 64bit.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 01-06-2009, 12:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: 32 bit vs 64 bit

Not to mention the fact there really aren't any chips yet powerful enough to take advantage of all that bandwidth.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 01-06-2009, 01:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
What choice did I have?..
 
SuxoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: TX (Soon CA)
Posts: 412
Send a message via AIM to SuxoR
Default Re: 32 bit vs 64 bit

Go with 64-bit just future proofing and let's you expand

But Windows 7 comes out soon...so idk really :P
__________________

SuxoR is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-12-2010 12:32 AM
Difference Between 32 Bit (x86) and 64 Bit (x64) KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 30 08-29-2009 09:05 AM
hard to find retail 64 bit? 06Skywalker Microsoft Windows and Software 6 09-25-2008 07:20 PM
64 bit processor, 32 bit OS Thresh25 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 08-11-2008 12:47 AM
Windows XP 64 bit Ethereal_Dragon Microsoft Windows and Software 12 09-25-2007 03:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.