300gb IDE or 80gb SATA? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2006, 03:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 129
Default 300gb IDE or 80gb SATA?

I have a dillema. I mrecently obatined this :http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148107
and am currently using this:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144421

Should keep the IDE or replace it with the SATA?
__________________

GreenTeaBagger is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 03:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default

I'd use both but use the smaller one for windows and installs only, then the 300Gb for storage, movies, downloads, music.

Boot up takes along time with bigger hardrives so it will speed things up a bit and organize things better.
__________________

__________________
Opteron 175 + Scythe Infinity
Asus A8N32-SLI
2 gigs corsair XMS DDR 400
XFX geforce 6800 XT
X-navigator case
30G Maxtor + 250G Maxtor

"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn." -- Seagate CEO Bill Watkins
bum is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 03:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 129
Default

Bad thing is that my dad wants to use one of em cause the dell we currently have doesn't had a harddrive. Performance or Storage.....which one would you choose? Wuts the performance gap on the drives anyway? how much faster would the SATA drive perform compared the the ATA one?
GreenTeaBagger is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 03:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

None unless you using raid or transfering files between hard drives.

Or if you just want to use sata cables which are so nice to use. Despite this, im still in the stone age with the good ol ide

Anyways... id go for the 300gb

(thats a lot of pron )
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 03:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 129
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aspire.comptech
None unless you using raid or transfering files between hard drives.

Or if you just want to use sata cables which are so nice to use. Despite this, im still in the stone age with the good ol ide

Anyways... id go for the 300gb

(thats a lot of pron )
lol i hear ya brother! Besides..I have these cool UV reactive rounded IDE's anyways...
GreenTeaBagger is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 04:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

ya I would go with the 300 too, just because that is a **** of a lot of storage.

instead of just putting dvds in to watch them you could keep them on you HD LOL

that is what I do.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 03:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

put windows and games on thesata and then throw themin a raid 0 array. cant go wrong.
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 02:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

can't raid 0 2 different hard drives that aren't the same interface, same size, and pref. same kind and model..
__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 04:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

oohh, then **** the raid and just instakll your os onthe sata and download the rest of your stuff to teh ide
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.