$300 Mobo/Proc/Ram - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2006, 02:08 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

Why AGP?
__________________

septoid2 is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 02:30 AM   #12 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to JumaadJ Send a message via Yahoo to JumaadJ
Default

Because Im not ready to upgrade my video card yet its not included. Or should I?. The only game Im playing is counter strike source.
__________________

JumaadJ is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 02:51 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

I'd get:
MSI K8N Neo4-F Motherboard
AMD 3200 Socket 939
1Gig G.Skill (Single stick) RAM
Yes, dual channel is better, but if you have your own ram already or going to get some in the future, you can dual channel with another single gig of ram.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231036

= about 310, a little over your budget but definately worth it.
__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 03:01 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

The problem with the MSI board is that he has an AGP card.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 03:03 AM   #15 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to JumaadJ Send a message via Yahoo to JumaadJ
Default

Yes plaease configure one with AGP slot
thanks.
JumaadJ is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 03:15 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

mobo = $70
CPU=$160
RAM=$76
-OR-
RAM=78
Both RAM's are the same (1 gig), just depends if you want 1 or 2 slots full.

The reason i choose that mobo is because it will allow you to switch to a pci-ex card without redoing your system when you decide to upgrade again.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 03:52 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

oo my fault, I didn't see that.
Yeah I'd say go with the asrock mobo in your case, I don't know much about the brand but the agp/pci-e compatability is very helpful.
__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 03:05 PM   #18 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to JumaadJ Send a message via Yahoo to JumaadJ
Default

That looks good. Ill probable definitely need a new psu because my current one is only 300W.
JumaadJ is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 04:25 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Yea you come in here only expecting to get a small upgrade and next thing you know you're spending $1000 on some super comp. Thats what happened to me
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 04:29 PM   #20 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to JumaadJ Send a message via Yahoo to JumaadJ
Default

lol .. I hope mines doesnt get to $1000. I will do whats necessary to get it working fine though
__________________

JumaadJ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.