$300 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2006, 11:11 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by albinoblackbear
My other specs will be an AMD Athlon 3200+, 1 gig CORSAIR value select RAM, and havent picked out a motherboard, case, or PSU yet. I have $135 for a psu, case, and motherboard. Is that enough?
LOL

If you want a SLI mobo, your gonna need 200 for that alone, and then 125 for a case and psu.
__________________

__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 11:18 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Default

Do I need a sli mobo!? And do I seriously need that much for the case and psu!?
__________________

albinoblackbear is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 11:24 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

Well, a good fortron PSU will be 50 bucks at the most. Never EVER use the PSU that comes with a case. That leaves you with 75 dollars to pick out a case. DO NOT get a case that you really don't like that much just because it is cheap.

SLI is up to you. We here at TF don't think it is worth it, because the mobos are more expensive and even if you add another videocard it doesn't add enough performance. Even if you don't get a SLI mobo, you will need at least 125 for the mobo alone.
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 11:30 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default

Can't he just get the DFI LANPARTY UT NF4 ULTRA-D? It's also sli, and it costs 130$.
__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 11:40 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 203
Default

mobos with SLI arent that expensive compared to thier non-SLI counterparts (like $30 more)

i got a gigabyte SLI and its awsome!
__________________
Computer noob in training.
savagenator is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 11:48 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Default

I just want a mobo that will work!! I will rarely open the computer up, I'll probably just learn to overclock my processor, then after that, I'll just be playing games, surfing the internet, that kind of stuff.
albinoblackbear is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 12:37 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default

you're gonna need way more than that for a decent CPU alone, then add in the motherboard and PSU...no way. I'd save up for a while
__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 12:43 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Go for the MSI K8N NEO4-F

the N517-AX
corsair valueselect
and the 3200+

and make sure you get a good psu. Fortron 450W power supply 50 dollars, or the antec truepower for 90 dollars
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 01:20 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Default

I was going to buy a new monitor, but I can just use my old one. I have 535 to buy everything but the 7800gt. What do you think?
albinoblackbear is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 03:08 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

Ultra-D isn't sli. SLI-D is SLi. The Ultra-D has like dual xpress graphics or something, it slike having 4 monitors run.
__________________

septoid2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.