$3.6k budget build help =) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2006, 11:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default

O sorry I didn't catch the joke. It's cool I'm not gonna lose sleep over it or anything. =) hahaha srry
__________________

__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 12:17 AM   #12 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

okay, I didnt mean terabyte, I noticed you wanted a raid1 config in your other thread. And I was just going by the budget, so why doesnt everyone else quit raising he11 becuase somebody wants a really fast computer.

Now if it were me personally, I don't think I would spend more then 1600 on a computer unless I won the lotto.

now if you want a good computer now I would spend 1500 on just what is inside the case.

cpu
ram
gpu
hdd
psu
mobo
case
disk drives
fans
cathodes.


And then another ~400 on monitor kb, and mouse.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 01:11 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default

I have been doing some research on NewEgg and have taken a couple things into consideration and here is what I came up with:

MOBO:
EVGA 680i SLI

CPU:
Intel x6800

MEMORY:
Corsair XMS2 Dominator 2GB

GRAPHICS CARD:
EVGA 8800gtx

HD:
WD Raptor 150GB

PSU:
Thermaltake 700w

CASE:
Thermaltake Armor w/ 25cm fan

Let me know how this sounds. I still need the optical drive, monitor, kb, mouse.
Thanks
Pinscher is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 01:15 AM   #14 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

dont get the x6800 cpu. Get the e6600, it is more than enough horsepower. Also get a 200 gig drive to store your low priority stuff and back up important stuff. But you can still keep the raptor as your boot drive and what you install games and current projects on.

Everything else looks pretty good.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 01:26 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default

Would it be reasonable to just get another 150gb raptor and put it in raid 1 since thats what i wanted to do anyways?
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 01:39 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default

I have heard some things about poor quality heatsinks on Intel processors (some of this information came from reviews on Newegg). Is this true or did they just get flukes? If it is true, should I look into an aftermarket HSF?
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 06:34 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
You guys are insane...

Quad core?


Are you kidding me? What will he gain from 2 cores to 4. Please tell me.


Im telling you dude, save your money and go with the build I suggested and like an 8800 GTX or GTS.


This whole "OMG quad kenstfield 8800gtxsli 4gb" Is seriously starting to **** me off.

Put this way.

You just bought the following and spent ALL your money on

FX-60
DFI-Lanparty Venus
4 GB DDR600 Ram
4 150 GB raptors in RAID0
TWO 7800GTX'S in SLI
1k PSU.
Maze4 GPU water block
Danger Den TDX CPU waterblock


and then say tommorow, 8800's come out, and so do the new CPU's for instance, the conroes, that absolutely blow the FX-60 out of the water.


So let's upgrade!! Oh wait. You were an idiot and spent all your money when you had 3K to work with.


It's just smarter financially.

But go ahead. Be my guest. This isn't my 3.5 K now is it?
Shudda went with C2D X6800 or E6600
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 06:48 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gmanych
Shudda went with C2D X6800 or E6600
That was his whole point, lol

ferarri: why RAID1? RAID0 is a much better choice for home use.

Also, the Core 2 Duos have decent stock HSF. Not great, but good enough to get a fair overclock. Of course, an aftermarket HSF will allow you to push your CPU farther.
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 09:24 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wetaskiwin Alberta
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to nVdia Send a message via Yahoo to nVdia
Default

As for power supplies I would suggest you get this and this means you won't have to buy a new one for a long time exspecialy if you ever upgrade to another 8800 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...upply - Retail
__________________
Intel Core 2 duo E6750
Gigabyte S series N650 SLI
Evga 8800GT Superclocked 512MB
4 Patriot Extreme DDR2800
Seagate Barracuda 320gig SATA 2
Seagate Barracuda 200gig SATA 2
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Enermax Liberty 620watt Modular
Acer 22inch Widescreen HDTV/DVI
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 Bit
nVdia is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 11:03 AM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 134
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Meithan

ferarri: why RAID1? RAID0 is a much better choice for home use.

In one of his earlier posts he mentioned that he wants Raid 1 to be able to backup his work, because he's going to school.

People I tell ya, lol


Oh and ferarri, I would suggest not using the stock heatsink that comes with the CPU if you plan on overclocking in the future, which I doubt you'll need to with that kind of money haha. But in the event you do, look at getting a Scythe Ninja, or a Zalman CNPS9700 NT.

Other than that I think you've done pretty well with what you've got so far.
__________________

jared17 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.