2x256 OR... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2006, 07:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 396
Default 2x256 OR...

ok i got a name brand ram = 256 samsung
and i got 2 no name brand 256 should i put
256 samsung
256 no name
=512

or should i do this

256 no name
256 no name
=512
which do u think will run better
__________________

__________________


quest1on is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 07:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

There's no such thing as no name, everything obviously has a brand. Two sticks of the same brand would probably be more stable, but I don't think two different brands would run any slower. Just remember, the memory will only run at the speed of the slowest stick.
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 07:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 123
Send a message via AIM to wxt38
Default

go for the branded one. more reliable. less change to screw up.
wxt38 is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 07:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 396
Default

i heard its not good to run two different brands..
__________________


quest1on is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 07:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

different brands is fine: "Should be" same size / speed / timings...
HAVOC is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 08:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

its not nessicalliry bad to run todifferent brands jsut more of a chace of malfunction cause they both arent exactly alike
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 08:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 396
Default

alright so u think i should just stick to the 2 no names?
__________________


quest1on is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 08:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

for now yes..... later get 2*512 sticks or even 2*1gb kits .......
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 08:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 396
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
different brands is fine: "Should be" same size / speed / timings...
not sure about the timings but its a different size samsung one is bigger
__________________


quest1on is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 11:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

you never really said if the generic ones were the same. Is that the case? If so, it would probably be more stable that way.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.