2x 320MB 8800's= 256MB Dedicated Vid Memory? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2008, 11:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
suicide007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: inside.
Posts: 279
Default 2x 320MB 8800's= 256MB Dedicated Vid Memory?

I am setting up my SLI 8800gts's (EVGA 320mb). I was messing around with some stuff and i noticed that my Vista was only recognizing 256mb as dedicated video memory, even though both of my graphics cards have 320mb, so it should total around 640mb.

Is my computer using my video card memory as ram? I thought the purpose of shared memory was to use ram for the vid card, but it seems to be doing just the opposite in this case.

If that is indeed the case, does anybody know of a way to fix it?

Or, is the problem that 32-bit vista cannot handle 2 gigs of ram plus 640mb video memory? because that would make a whole lot more sense. In that case, I might be able to improve my video performance by removing half my ram, right? wow, that sounds absurd.

So, my question is, "is there a way to dedicate all of my video cards' memory to dedicated video memory?"
__________________

__________________
Intel Conroe e6750
SLI EVGA 8800gts KO's
4GB Patriot DDR2 800mhz
22" Widescreen Sceptre LCD monitor 5ms
OCZ 700W psu
320gb seagate w/ perpindicular tech.
Creative SB X-Fi Fatality
Thermaltake Armor: Extreme Edition
suicide007 is offline  
Old 07-07-2008, 11:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: 2x 320MB 8800's= 256MB Dedicated Vid Memory?

I dunno why it reads 256 instead of 320, maybe someone else can elaborate..but ur total isn't 640mb, its only 320mb because the data on each card has to be mirrored, so effectively u only have 320mb video memory. thats how dual GPU's work for the time being because the memory can't be shared.
__________________

AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 12:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
I can't brain today
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Default Re: 2x 320MB 8800's= 256MB Dedicated Vid Memory?

32-bit operating systems can support 4GB of memory (RAM and GPU combined) so that isn't the problem.

What kind of motherboard do you have? As it sounds as if you have an on board video card which may be getting its memory from your RAM. Please get back to us with more details.
[t..o..m] is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 11:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
suicide007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: inside.
Posts: 279
Default Re: 2x 320MB 8800's= 256MB Dedicated Vid Memory?

The vista sp1 update seems to have addressed the issue. My computer now reports 320mb dedicated video memory, but whether or not it utilizes this memory is still a mystery to me. I havent noticed a difference in games.
__________________
Intel Conroe e6750
SLI EVGA 8800gts KO's
4GB Patriot DDR2 800mhz
22" Widescreen Sceptre LCD monitor 5ms
OCZ 700W psu
320gb seagate w/ perpindicular tech.
Creative SB X-Fi Fatality
Thermaltake Armor: Extreme Edition
suicide007 is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 02:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: 2x 320MB 8800's= 256MB Dedicated Vid Memory?

thats wierd, not that u didnt get all the 320mb deidcated, but that sp1 actually did something. wat were use using to detect ur video ram?
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 08:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: 2x 320MB 8800's= 256MB Dedicated Vid Memory?

That is pretty strange that it was only reading as 256mb, did this happen on anything else such as everest??

Vista SP1 has a fix in it that forces the OS to recognize more than 3.5GB of ram for 32 bit. But i do not think it utilizes the extra ram as it is a 32 bit limitation, i think Vista is now just forced to show how much ram is installed.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 10:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: 2x 320MB 8800's= 256MB Dedicated Vid Memory?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AP4LIFETN View Post
I dunno why it reads 256 instead of 320, maybe someone else can elaborate..but ur total isn't 640mb, its only 320mb because the data on each card has to be mirrored, so effectively u only have 320mb video memory. thats how dual GPU's work for the time being because the memory can't be shared.
Data is not mirrored on both cards.

Evidently you don't understand that in SLi each card renders half the screen. So there is no data being mirrored. It is unique to each card.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 08-12-2008, 05:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: 2x 320MB 8800's= 256MB Dedicated Vid Memory?

like i was saying what did u use to mintor these conclusions? have u tried dxdiag or everest or sumthin.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill memory problems kar916 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-31-2008 07:15 AM
Motherboard/ Memory Read Error Pezzy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-02-2008 09:40 PM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.