2x 280GTX SLI vs. 1x 290GTX - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-24-2009, 03:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
SubFusion's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 155
Default Re: 2x 280GTX SLI vs. 1x 290GTX

Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post
had read this awhile ago. i would personally go for the 295, since it would allow for another 295 in sli in the future.

Gtx 295 Vs Gtx 280 Sli ! ! ! - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net
Good Point even if it would get lower scores than two 280GTX in SLI, then i could add a second 295 in the future, if and when games become more GPU taxing. Which i have read a lot of articles and information that states that games are going to be more GPU intensive in the near future in order to take more load off the CPU.

(Thank you to Muffin Man, and Slaymate for your research)

SubFusion is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 05:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Slaymate's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: 2x 280GTX SLI vs. 1x 290GTX

I didn't do any research.

Personally I wouldn't upgrade at this moment. And if I was going to anyways, I definitely would not buy a GTX 295. In a couple of months the new 300 series card is going to hit retail shelves and for the money a GTX 295 is going to look weak. You should just buy a GTX 280 or 285 and wait for the new cards to come out. Then you either sell your card or use it for PhysX. The GTX 295 isn't worth the money, if it was I would own a pair of them already.

Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 05:58 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
meat_helmet's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: 2x 280GTX SLI vs. 1x 290GTX

Slaymate has a very good point, the 300 series are right around the corner. And dont think this will push down prices of the GTX295 because normally that doesnt happen with the really high end cards.

Also think, my rig can max out just about anything at 1920x1200 (with the exception of ARMA2, only because you can set the view distance to crazy distances...)

meat_helmet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia SLI for P55 philbar71 New Technology and Products 2 08-13-2009 05:47 PM
List of News Prototype New Technology and Products 4 10-29-2008 03:29 AM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 08:27 PM
SLI + Dual Monitors WORKS.... Black Falcon 921 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 03-22-2008 09:34 AM
NVIDIA Launching 3 way SLI Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 12-12-2007 08:55 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.