2x 256mb 7950GT or 1GB 7950gx2 Graphics card? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2006, 07:39 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

Do you absolutely have to buy from this company. You should also check out, www.cyberpowerinc.com www.monarchcomputers.com.

Or better yet you couuld build it yourself.

I would go with the 2x7950gt seeing as that's the cheapest option.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 05:35 AM   #22 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

The difference between 7950GT and 7900GT is that the 7950GT has more memory.

If the 7950GT that u want to buy have only 256MB memory then it is similar to 7900GT. So, i would go with 7950GX2 because it will better performer.
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 12:13 PM   #23 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 43
Default

I would consider 2 7900gto's now also.. as a single one of them beats a single 7950gt and they are only 250 a pop.
doox00 is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 12:34 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nerdsrope
i mean im not sure if u can get 256mb versions of that card but the website im buying from has told me that they are putting 2x 256mb 7950gt into the system, it even sais it on thier list the card.
256mb 7950gt

They do offer one, atleast newegg does.

I would go with the gx2 seeing as how the whole point of the 7950 was for the extra memory, making it basically a 7900.
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 01:51 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Default

sry to get away from ur question a lil but from wat u guys are saying graphics cards that are out now cant run dx10 games even if have dx10?
nirvana1234 is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 02:02 PM   #26 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

That's right. DirectX 10 needs a video card that supports DirectX 10 in order for it to work. There aren't any DirectX 10 video cards out yet, and DirectX 10 will come out with Vista ... if Vista ever comes out.

You will be able to play the DirectX 10 games in DirectX 9 mode, it will work it just won't look as good.
The General is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 03:02 PM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
That's right. DirectX 10 needs a video card that supports DirectX 10 in order for it to work. There aren't any DirectX 10 video cards out yet, and DirectX 10 will come out with Vista ... if Vista ever comes out.

You will be able to play the DirectX 10 games in DirectX 9 mode, it will work it just won't look as good.
could u get dx10 for xp? cuz im not to sure abotu getting vista. alot of ppl are saying its a RAM hog
nirvana1234 is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 03:04 PM   #28 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

nope, no dx10 for xp!
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 11:41 PM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default

yeah, there is no dx10 for xp. someone started a rumor about they're being a patch for it, but its not true.
__________________

__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.