2gig or not 2gig (that is the question) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2006, 03:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Smile 2gig or not 2gig (that is the question)

More recently my computer just started crashing and getting blue screens whenever i use a lot of resources from my ram. I ran a memtest and figured out that it was my ram.

So i am pondering.. should i save up and get 2gigs, or should i just get 1 gig.

Ive noticed 2gigs is becoming more popular now.. should i get prepared for the future use of 2gigs?

Ive gone to newegg and this is what i am planning on getting:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145579

If I change my mind on getting better quality ram ill do so, but for now i am only interested in the amount of ram, not the timings

Thanks,
Alexsabree
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 03:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

There's no question. Go for two.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 03:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

any idea how much crysis will be using...
im using crysis as a reference for future build

yeah.. im probably getting 2 gigs.. its just SOO hard to save money, especially when you don't have a job
alexsabree is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 03:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

Quote:
[i].. its just SOO hard to save money, especially when you don't have a job [/B]
Then get a job... Easy fix!!
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 03:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

thats kind of hard to do when ur under 18, beleive me, i know, i turn 16 next month. just do extra chores around the house, offer to rake leaves, etc...starve at school (if you pay for lunch), dont throw pennies, they add up (got like $15 in pennies, but theyre pennies so i dont spend), christmas is coming, ask for money, same for bday, go around to random shops down your town's main road and ask if they need help r sumptin, do extra credit at school and get a 3.5+ gpa and try to con your parents into rewarding you, raid your couches for coins under the seats, when you walk, look down for coins, especially at gas stations and at the snack bar at your school, um....well thats all i can think of, but that should get ya movin (im dirt poor...i know how to scrape by)
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 10:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bmxfreakrider
(im dirt poor...i know how to scrape by)
i know how you feel man, i'm 16 as well but, i do some work for my uncle so i can get by.

But like Freakrider said, just do what you can
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 10:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default

BMX what state do you live in? Because in SC, we can work full time starting at 16. I don't work full time, mind you since I'm in school, but I've made enough in a few months for the setup in my sig.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 11:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

If you keep crashing with 1GB, then I bet it's faulty RAM. Windows can easily operate with 1GB and create a page file when your system is exceeding this amount of memory. Maybe the problem would make more sense if you had 512MB.

I'm not swearing that it is bad RAM, but take a look into it, before you buy an extra stick.
Phrantic is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 12:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

I think he already know it is bad ram and is going to start from scratch with 2 new sticks.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 08:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 134
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bmxfreakrider
thats kind of hard to do when ur under 18, beleive me, i know, i turn 16 next month.
Being 16 is no excuse lol. I've been working since I was 13, I'm 18 now, just have to know where to look, there are always places who are willing to hire you. Just gotta put alot of effort into it.
__________________

jared17 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.