2gb vs 4gb of ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2008, 08:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default 2gb vs 4gb of ram

I know a lot of people say 2gb is the most you'll ever need. And some say running 4gb on a 32-bit OS will even cause issues. But when it comes down to it-assuming you get the OS to pick up all (well 3.2-3.5 or whatever it does pick up) works, how much better is 4gb then 2gb???
__________________

wafflehammer is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 08:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 2gb vs 4gb of ram

It depends on how you use it. If you're using/multitasking memory intensive programs, 4GB will come in handy.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 08:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: 2gb vs 4gb of ram

Well lets just say having browsers open while playing new games...crysis/CoD4 for example?? Will you be able to tell a difference between 2gb and 4gb?
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 08:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 2gb vs 4gb of ram

Nope, because those aren't really memory intensive. Crysis maybe though, on a very high resolution. I mean applications, such as CAD, graphics design/rendering, or video/photo editing.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 08:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: 2gb vs 4gb of ram

maybe video recording, ...crysis if anything will be on a smaller res then most (1440 x 900) and no rendering....

starting to look at ways of dropping computer price down some..i might be kicking off 2gb of ram so i just have 2gb
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 08:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 2gb vs 4gb of ram

For what you're doing, 2GB is more than enough. 1440 x 900 is not very demanding on the games, to require alot of memory.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 08:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: 2gb vs 4gb of ram

welp that just took about $50ish off my total price...thanks for the info. Good thing processors will be dropping soon. Original budget for build was $1400 then it got up to $1600..trying to bring it down now lol

thanks a lot for the quick help
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 08:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: 2gb vs 4gb of ram

ur using 32-bit, so the max RAM that can be read is 3.12GB for sure, saw it on the official site myself.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 08:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: 2gb vs 4gb of ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
ur using 32-bit, so the max RAM that can be read is 3.12GB for sure, saw it on the official site myself.

yea, that's another reason why i was kinda iffy on it..paying for 4 gigs but basically getting around 3 at max... aready $30 wasted right there
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 08:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 2gb vs 4gb of ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
ur using 32-bit, so the max RAM that can be read is 3.12GB for sure, saw it on the official site myself.
Nope. It's 4GB - video ram.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2GB DDR2 RAM to 4GB madking153 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-13-2007 06:06 PM
Simple Question about 4gb RAM OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-02-2007 10:46 AM
4gb of ram david15549 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-25-2007 03:05 PM
stupid guy wants 4GB of RAM... jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 10 09-27-2007 07:33 PM
1.5gb vs 2gb ram dario03 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 09-21-2007 05:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.