2GB vs 1GB vram - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2013, 04:12 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: 2GB vs 1GB vram

When you have a lower resolution like that games are more CPU bound rather than GPU bound. When you're dealing with lower end cards the amount of VRAM doesn't really matter all that much because you need the horsepower to process the extra textures stored in RAM.

If you can get an R9 270x you should do that instead rather than the 7850.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 11:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Spartan109's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 82
Default

Mguire is right, in that the 270x is better, but, if he just gets 1gb of vram he's kind of limiting himself. Even with a entry level card
__________________

__________________
My Rig:

Core i5-750 4.1ghz @ 1.3v||Prolimatech Megahalems||Intel DP55KG MoBo||G.Skill sniper series 8gb @1642mhz 9-9-9-24||XFX 6870 1gb||Intel 120gb ssd||2x 1.5tb WD Green HDD's|| Corsair TX750w||NZXT Tempest EVO||
Spartan109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 11:57 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: 2GB vs 1GB vram

Not at all. It's pointless to have more than 1GB of VRAM on lower end GPUs due to the fact that they don't have the power to handle the extra info being fed. You only want 2 or more on higher midrange and high end cards. The only exception being productivity.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 08:40 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Spartan109's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 82
Default

That's not true in gta 4, even with the visual candy down, turn up the view distance and it will start eating vram
__________________
My Rig:

Core i5-750 4.1ghz @ 1.3v||Prolimatech Megahalems||Intel DP55KG MoBo||G.Skill sniper series 8gb @1642mhz 9-9-9-24||XFX 6870 1gb||Intel 120gb ssd||2x 1.5tb WD Green HDD's|| Corsair TX750w||NZXT Tempest EVO||
Spartan109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 03:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: 2GB vs 1GB vram

Yea and on cards that are low end you can have the VRAM to turn it up but it'll still lag because the card isn't powerful enough. This was proven with the 1.5GB vs 3GB 580s. Top end at the time, but the extra VRAM didn't help that much due to it technically being low power to today's standards.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 02:23 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 61
Default Re: 2GB vs 1GB vram

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Not at all. It's pointless to have more than 1GB of VRAM on lower end GPUs due to the fact that they don't have the power to handle the extra info being fed. You only want 2 or more on higher midrange and high end cards. The only exception being productivity.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spartan109 View Post
Mguire is right, in that the 270x is better, but, if he just gets 1gb of vram he's kind of limiting himself. Even with a entry level card
Sorry for not replying sooner- I didn't realise both of you had replied!

Anyway as nice as a 270 would be I simply can't afford it (it is 20 more). However I just found a perfect alternative that not only has 2GB of vram, but is also (correct me if I am wrong) the card the 270 is based off of:

Sapphire 11199-16-20G AMD Radeon HD 7870 Dual-X 2GB GDDR5 Graphics Card (HDMI, DVI-I, DVI-D, Display Port, PCI Express 3.0, 256-Bit, AMD Avivo HD): Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories

Thoughts?
Geoman37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 02:34 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Spartan109's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 82
Default

Looks good to me, I have a 1gb 6870, so I know for sure you'll be happy with that card at 1600x900
__________________
My Rig:

Core i5-750 4.1ghz @ 1.3v||Prolimatech Megahalems||Intel DP55KG MoBo||G.Skill sniper series 8gb @1642mhz 9-9-9-24||XFX 6870 1gb||Intel 120gb ssd||2x 1.5tb WD Green HDD's|| Corsair TX750w||NZXT Tempest EVO||
Spartan109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 02:36 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 61
Default Re: 2GB vs 1GB vram

Thanks dude, you too PP!
Geoman37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 02:50 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Spartan109's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 82
Default

No worries man, enjoy your new card
__________________
My Rig:

Core i5-750 4.1ghz @ 1.3v||Prolimatech Megahalems||Intel DP55KG MoBo||G.Skill sniper series 8gb @1642mhz 9-9-9-24||XFX 6870 1gb||Intel 120gb ssd||2x 1.5tb WD Green HDD's|| Corsair TX750w||NZXT Tempest EVO||
Spartan109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 10:37 PM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: 2GB vs 1GB vram

The 270x is based off the 7870XT chip which is technically a 7950. Either way, the 7870 is still a good card.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.