2gb ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2005, 12:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default 2gb ram

easy question do you think i should get another gig make it 2gig or you think waste of money because 1gig is more than adequate but 2gig will be awesome what you think
__________________

robina_80 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 12:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default

For some games/applications, 1 gig is not enough. Take world of warcraft, with 1 gig the game still has a few memory issues.
__________________

nezzari is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 12:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 191
Send a message via AIM to PhillipBelcher Send a message via Yahoo to PhillipBelcher
Default

what are you going to be doing with the computer? Games?
For some advance graphic games, HL2, Quake4, CS Source. Sometime 1GB is not enough. I would say go to 2GB if your a avid gamer.
PhillipBelcher is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 12:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

I will have to agree with them. 1Gb is now like the old 512. You must remember that all new apps and games are going to have higher standards which will make upgrading a must. I run 2gb and couldn't imagine only having 1Gb IMO.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 12:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default

what about 3gigs or maybe 4
robina_80 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 12:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Anything more than 2Gb is a waste. This is why: No apps will use more than 2Gb + the RAM will actually become fragmented. You will not notice any performace enhancement going from 2Gb to 3 or 4Gb. All you will get is a little more heat.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 12:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 191
Send a message via AIM to PhillipBelcher Send a message via Yahoo to PhillipBelcher
Default

i wouldn't rush to 3gb or 4 gb. 2gb should serve you fine. I think it would be a waste of money to do it now. i would wait, and buy it down the road as needed. But 2gb is enough for now in my opinion.
PhillipBelcher is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 06:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

1GB for now is just fine with most of the games and applications out. The only reason for upgrading to 2GB is because a couple of new PC games that are comming out. I wouldn't rush to 2GB yet, myself.
__________________

__________________
majistic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.