2GB advice? (sorry, this has been discussed a lot lately) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2006, 12:24 AM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Precisely. From now on, any High-graphics game that comes out will require you to have 1.5GB of RAM to play. Since 2 x 256MB sticks are pointless (you're getting 2T timings anyways) you have to go straight to 2GB.

You guys are all talking about 7900GTXs to play UT2K7 at High, but at the same time are saying that 1GB of RAM is enough. Well guess what...
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 01:03 AM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default

Its not!!!
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 08:32 AM   #13 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
Precisely. From now on, any High-graphics game that comes out will require you to have 1.5GB of RAM to play. Since 2 x 256MB sticks are pointless (you're getting 2T timings anyways) you have to go straight to 2GB.

You guys are all talking about 7900GTXs to play UT2K7 at High, but at the same time are saying that 1GB of RAM is enough. Well guess what...



When is the 7900 coming out? I am trying to hold off from a 7800GT until the 7900 comes out...


Oh, and 2gb is worth your while.
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 09:37 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PanzerKammander
When is the 7900 coming out? I am trying to hold off from a 7800GT until the 7900 comes out...


Oh, and 2gb is worth your while.
Good call, as fast as games are advancing, the 7900 will be a much, much better card to have. The 7800 GT will start showing its weaknesses when Oblivion comes out, which isn't that far away.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 01:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

1gigabyte of ram has been fine for everything I've thrown at it. I can't even run it at dual channel becasue of the board being gay but it still does fine...
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 01:44 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

It's no so much the bandwidth. You just need a certain amount of ram. Bandwidth helps increase performance, yes, but when you're talking about games like this, more ram is better than ram in dual channel.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.