2GB advice? (sorry, this has been discussed a lot lately) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2006, 11:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default 2GB advice? (sorry, this has been discussed a lot lately)

I was looking at this RAM thinking of upgrading to 2GB.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231021

Question number 1, is it a good deal? Question 2, should I even upgrade to 2GB. My friend tells me 1GB is all I need for still quite some time. From what I hear on this forum and also from the hard drive grinding I get during some games, I think it may be necissary. Is 2GB worth the upgrade?
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 11:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

switching to 2GB will give you improvement in games like BF2 and FEAR, and future games.
1GB is "enough" for now although in future games you will be better off with 2GB. but it really depends on whether you're willing to spend the $200 on it. personally I would go for 2GB then sell the 1GB RAM you have

that G.Skill RAM is descent, although G.Skill RAM doesn't overclock as well in 2 x 1GB, because they can't use TCCD's to make 1GB sticks. but OCZ RAM seems to overclock well without using TCCD's. I might opt to go with OCZ RAM if you will be overclocking it.

OCZ Gold PC4000 @ 3-4-3-8 - $219.50 (also has $35 rebate)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227219

OCZ Performance PC3200 @ 2-3-2-5 - $237.71 (also has $40 rebate)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227210
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 12:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default

2gig is pretty much a must right now anyways. Im pretty sure you play FEAR alot so 2gig makes all the world while playng that game. Also i think your 1gig could be holding your GT back MAYBE. I could be wrong. On the OC note, G.Skill OCs quite well whether they have TCCDs or not.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 12:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
2gig is pretty much a must right now anyways. Im pretty sure you play FEAR alot so 2gig makes all the world while playng that game. Also i think your 1gig could be holding your GT back MAYBE. I could be wrong. On the OC note, G.Skill OCs quite well whether they have TCCDs or not.
It is PC4000 after all which IS guaranteed to OC to at least 250 HTT, which will be easy on my Opteron.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 12:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default

If you get the PC5000 it should OC alot more, but w/ a cost. If you get stuck then just use a divider.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 01:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I've developed a theory.

1GIG is plenty for a PC that is strictly GAMING.
(OS, Drivers, Games and Benchmark Utilities) ONLY.

2GIG is needed for a PC that is used for everything.
If everyone else's PC is anything like mine, i've got it loaded with tons of gadgets and dohickies. Gotta make win XP pretty and plenty of cool like desktop things.

that's IMO
HAVOC is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 01:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default

Ive got nothing and i mean NOTHING on my LAN rig and i still need at least 1.5 gig of ram even if i stuff my 6800GT in there.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 01:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

If a game takes more than 1GB of RAM, you need more than 1 GB of RAM.

BF2, FEAR, and CoD2 all take more than 1GB. All major games coming out in the future will also take more than 1GB. I can tell you 100% guaranteed that BF2 takes .9GB-1.3GB of RAM on max settings, depending on the map.
Flanker is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 03:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

wow, that explains why i get the occassional lag now...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 12:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default

Yea, so basicaly saying your gonna need pretty much no matter what if you wanna play at high settings.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.