2900 PRO...with a 512-bit memory interface!!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2007, 01:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 2900 PRO...with a 512-bit memory interface!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
I think HIS is mistaken

HD2900Pro might not have 512Bit memory interface

TechConnect Magazine - Radeon HD 2900 Pro priced
Ehh? 1 single store listed it as having a 256bit interface...but the manufacturer lists it as 512....I would trust the manufacturer? Also overclockers.co.uk and other sites where it's already available for pre-order list it as 512bit.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 02:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: 2900 PRO...with a 512-bit memory interface!!!

"24x Custom Filter Anti-Aliasing"

y have i not seen any tests with this yet? Another reason i was considering on getting a 2900 is because of this note that caught my eye. If this can be implimented in future games for PC, it can get rid of jaggies!!

i have yet to see if this is true or not.......
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 02:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: 2900 PRO...with a 512-bit memory interface!!!

Is it shorter than the GTX?
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 04:53 PM   #14 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: 2900 PRO...with a 512-bit memory interface!!!

i would think it would be, as it is shorter than the XT and they still have to fit the XTX in there somewhere
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 04:44 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 2900 PRO...with a 512-bit memory interface!!!

So this isn't just a rumour anymore.

This is what one of the overclockers.co.uk employees has just said on his forum
Quote:
Confirmed the 2900 Pro is a 512-bit memory interface. It is identical to the 2900 XT, except for lower clock speeds.

Its a short term product and as such only a few thousand will be available world wide.

Its basically a bargain from ATI to just upset NV by releasing a product that matches the 320MB 8800 GTS for less/similar money and has the scope by overclocking to outperform the NV part.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 07:47 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 2900 PRO...with a 512-bit memory interface!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
So this isn't just a rumour anymore.

This is what one of the overclockers.co.uk employees has just said on his forum
so we could overclock it to an XT speeds if we had a good cooler?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 08:33 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 2900 PRO...with a 512-bit memory interface!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
so we could overclock it to an XT speeds if we had a good cooler?
Yup....
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 08:43 AM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: 2900 PRO...with a 512-bit memory interface!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
Yup....
i find that hard to believe. the card could not be identical for that much less then the 2900xt. unless the clock rates a substantially lower.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 08:48 AM   #19 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 2900 PRO...with a 512-bit memory interface!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
i find that hard to believe. the card could not be identical for that much less then the 2900xt. unless the clock rates a substantially lower.
The Pro is 600/1600, and the XT is 740/1650.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 08:50 AM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: 2900 PRO...with a 512-bit memory interface!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
The Pro is 600/1600, and the XT is 740/1650.
ohh i see. my bad. the 2900xt alot cheaper than i thought. makes more sense now

carry on,
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is now a good time to buy a macbook pro? ulater6000 Apple and Mac 13 09-22-2007 11:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.