26" High def TV/ Upgrading Processor - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2009, 10:16 PM   #11 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: 26" High def TV/ Upgrading Processor

make sure you have drivers updated and are running at 60hz. It might be that the TV doesn't like that res.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 10:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: 26" High def TV/ Upgrading Processor

In the manual that was the recommended resolution when hooked up via VGA
__________________

Thresh25 is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 10:21 PM   #13 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: 26" High def TV/ Upgrading Processor

And does it run fine on the lower res you've got it at now?
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 10:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: 26" High def TV/ Upgrading Processor

yeah no problems, but i mean this is the same res i had my old crap monitor at id like to think i could do better than that. maybe i need a better viedo card?
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 11:01 PM   #15 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: 26" High def TV/ Upgrading Processor

nah. TV's generally aren't meant to have great resolutions or great quality for computers. It's meant for a standard feed to come through and be displayed. Try it on the 1366x768 if that's possible or something near that, or the standard 720p res and see if that makes it any clearer..
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 02-07-2009, 03:02 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: 26" High def TV/ Upgrading Processor

Yeah when I go to 1360x768 (which is recommended in the manual) the sides of the screen get all shaky. I wish I would have known before my impulse buy that a monitor would look a lot better...lol. Would I get a better resolution with the HDMI to DVI chord?
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 02-07-2009, 03:07 PM   #17 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: 26" High def TV/ Upgrading Processor

it's possible. I'd say try it and if it doesn't work just return it..
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 02-07-2009, 03:10 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: 26" High def TV/ Upgrading Processor

Yeah, not sure what a return policy would be on a cable like that though. Eventually I've got to upgrade my now ancient video card anyways, I was thinking the 9800 gtx+ would be in my price range, and this one

Newegg.com - MSI N9800GTX Plus-512M OC GeForce 9800 GTX+ 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

is rather cheap. I've bought from BFG and XFX I don't know much about MSI's reliability. Anybody know much about that particular model?
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 07:11 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: 26" High def TV/ Upgrading Processor

Anyone... anyone? Bueler?
__________________

Thresh25 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High def audio device, plugged sound cable into TV wont work! dave_100 Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 01-17-2009 08:56 AM
Question about upgrading processor! bonoz System Upgrades 9 01-15-2008 05:37 AM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Upgrading help valcan222 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-12-2007 07:21 AM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.