26" High def TV/ Upgrading Processor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2009, 05:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default 26" High def TV/ Upgrading Processor

I am looking at buying a 26" 720P HDTV. First off, if any of you know any good deals anywhere, please guide me. But my main thing here is what resolution would that be, does anyone know? And, will I need a better video card? Currently i have an XFX 8600 GT I believe was the exact model. 256 MB ddr3. It runs BF2, M2TW, and even UT3. It has done quite better than what I expected. Of course I play on an old Multisync FE950 at 1024 x 768. So my question is, ill I need a GPU upgrade to run a TV like that? Thanks in advance
__________________

Thresh25 is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 05:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: 26" High def TV

1280 x 720
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 05:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default Re: 26" High def TV

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thresh25 View Post
I am looking at buying a 26" 720P HDTV. First off, if any of you know any good deals anywhere, please guide me. But my main thing here is what resolution would that be, does anyone know? And, will I need a better video card? Currently i have an XFX 8600 GT I believe was the exact model. 256 MB ddr3. It runs BF2, M2TW, and even UT3. It has done quite better than what I expected. Of course I play on an old Multisync FE950 at 1024 x 768. So my question is, ill I need a GPU upgrade to run a TV like that? Thanks in advance
So im asuming you wanna watch TV and also run your computer off of it too..well if you wasn't gonna use it as a TV.. i suggest get a Hanns-G 28inch 1080P monitor.. got mine for about 350 bucks. and no you will not need to upgrade your video card... i ran a 32 inch HDTV with a old Video card... even with gaming it was perfect
__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 05:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: 26" High def TV

1336x768 is generally the res if you're running a computer off of it. but yeah if you're not going to be watching tv on it as well, get a monitor. much better for the price and performance part of it.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 09:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: 26" High def TV

I will be watching TV on it as well, so 1336x768 then?

EDIT: Just bought a 26 inch from best buy
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 09:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: 26" High def TV

I don't know dude. You could have gotten a much better resolution if you would have went with a monitor. I would think you would want a bigger screen for tv anyway.
Druid is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 08:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default

It's just for a bedroom, already bought it and it's hooked up via VGA for now. Will eventually get hdmi to dvi. But right now I've got it set on 1024 by 768. in the manual it reccommends 1360 by 768, however when i set it to that the sides of my screen get like shaky. Will this get better with a better cable, or with a better video card? I have the XFX 8600 GT 256 mb ddr3

I have an AMD socket x2 board, with a 2.1ghz processor OC'ed to 2.3. I want to upgrade, and I want to be able to see a pretty decent difference.

I'm sort of confused on some things, a processor .1ghz faster is at the same price, and then black edition vs regular. I believe the black edition is where the multiplier is unlocked so better for OCing, idk prove me wrong maybe. So anyways, what is the best buy here?

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600 Brisbane 2.9GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400 Brisbane 2.8GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

this one is 90 nm.
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ Windsor 3.2GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

black edition, actually the cheapest
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400 Brisbane 2.8GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core black edition Processor - Processors - Desktops

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon X2 5400B 2.8GHz 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 08:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: Upgrading Processor

The Black Edition are the AMD CPUs that have unlocked multiplier. They aren't great overclockers but I would go with a Black Edition than a regular one.

You don't need to make another thread.
__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 08:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Upgrading Processor

Buy an X2 7750 BE.

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma 2.7GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache 2MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 95W Dual-Core black edition Processor - Processors - Desktops
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 10:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: 26" High def TV/ Upgrading Processor

All right processor problem solved, but waht about the TV issue?
__________________

Thresh25 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High def audio device, plugged sound cable into TV wont work! dave_100 Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 01-17-2009 08:56 AM
Question about upgrading processor! bonoz System Upgrades 9 01-15-2008 05:37 AM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Upgrading help valcan222 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-12-2007 07:21 AM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.