256MB Graphics Cards... Looking for Best Solution.... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2007, 11:42 PM   #21 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

you would need a new motherboard.

How do you think it is possible to physically change the socket of the board. LOL That would be like going from socket 754 to 939. IT just doesn't work.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 11:51 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

I thought it sounded ridiculous at first too, but I guess he thought there might be some sort of AGP-->PCI-E adapter or something. I wish...
__________________

__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 11:53 PM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 109
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TriEclipse
I thought it sounded ridiculous at first too, but I guess he thought there might be some sort of AGP-->PCI-E adapter or something. I wish...
ya i was thinking of a adapter but i guess not.... i shoulds researched this before buying my board lol....
__________________
MY CUSTOM BUILT PC IS AS FOLLOWS:
Intel® Desktop Board D865GBF- MB
Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHZ- CPU
768 MB- RAM
MAT****A DVD-RAM SW-9585S DVD BURNER
80 GB- HARD DRIVE
256MB GRAPHICS CARD

GAMING CASE
davidp423 is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 12:04 AM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 109
Default

so i got tired of searching and finally bought this card:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...8845&rd=1&rd=1

did i make a good choice or not? i hope i did
__________________
MY CUSTOM BUILT PC IS AS FOLLOWS:
Intel® Desktop Board D865GBF- MB
Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHZ- CPU
768 MB- RAM
MAT****A DVD-RAM SW-9585S DVD BURNER
80 GB- HARD DRIVE
256MB GRAPHICS CARD

GAMING CASE
davidp423 is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 12:10 AM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

It's a good choice. You can run San Andreas no problem.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 12:12 AM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 109
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
It's a good choice. You can run San Andreas no problem.
what about games like half life, counterstrike-source... on high setting?
what are the ratings on this card btw?
__________________
MY CUSTOM BUILT PC IS AS FOLLOWS:
Intel® Desktop Board D865GBF- MB
Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHZ- CPU
768 MB- RAM
MAT****A DVD-RAM SW-9585S DVD BURNER
80 GB- HARD DRIVE
256MB GRAPHICS CARD

GAMING CASE
davidp423 is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 05:27 PM   #27 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 109
Default

...
__________________
MY CUSTOM BUILT PC IS AS FOLLOWS:
Intel® Desktop Board D865GBF- MB
Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHZ- CPU
768 MB- RAM
MAT****A DVD-RAM SW-9585S DVD BURNER
80 GB- HARD DRIVE
256MB GRAPHICS CARD

GAMING CASE
davidp423 is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 06:50 PM   #28 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Well which half life? my neighbor can run hl1 on a 900mhz laptop. lol

I think it will do fine. you wont be able to play hl2 on high settings nor css but you will get decent framerates at medium settings.

That card is well a 6200. I dont know about ratings.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.