256mb or 512mb Graphics memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2006, 03:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default 256mb or 512mb Graphics memory

ok is it worth buying the 512mb version rather than the 256mb version?

he are the two cards:
256mb version
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=GX-065-HT

512mb version
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=GX-070-HT

Thanks for your help

Tim
__________________

TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 03:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

It depends on what resolutions you will be playing on, standard 1280x1024 you could get away with the 256mb. But anything larger is usually a lot better handled with 512mb.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 03:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

quake 4 says it needs 512mb to be run on ultra, and what about flight simulator x, doesn't that use alot of graphics memeory
__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 03:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Well but that all depends. What resolution are the testing the game on for there specs?

If it is only ~20 more then I would get the 512mb version.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 03:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well memory does make a reasonable difference at higher resolutions, especially if you want to play with bump mapping, high quality textures and all the other candy. i know for a fact quake 4 will start on Ultra Quality without 512mb, it just doesn't play so well at 1600x1200 i haven't tried at a lower resolution. i guess if you are looking at a decent card and you have the extra 20 pounds then you should go for it. if you don't have the money to spare and you won't in the foreseeable future you may as well get the card you can afford. just know that in general gameplay 512mb doesn't make it faster, only in circumstances where 256mb of memory can't cope does that become a factor.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 04:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

i think my 256 version i had before stuggled to render the textures in flight simulator so i think i will go dfor the 512mb
__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 05:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

can anyone find me the HIS x1950 pro 512mb v ersion on a UK website?
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.