250gb hard drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2005, 10:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to leeroy.j
Default 250gb hard drive

HI do you guys have an oppinion on a 250gb hd i was looking at the seagate barracuda do you think thats good?
seagate barracuda
__________________

leeroy.j is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 10:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to Graham
Default

Seagate rocks. Don't waste money on SATA, though.
__________________

__________________
- Intel i7-930 CPU @ 3.4 GHz w/ Zalman CNPS 9900 MAX
- Asus P6X58D Mainboard
- Corsair 1000W PSU
- Cooler Master HAF 932 Adv. Chassis
- SSD Intel 40 gig
- HDD: 2x SATA III 300 GBs
- LG Blu-Ray 8X
- Gigabyte GTX 670 WF @ 1098 Mhz
- Corsair Dominator 6 GB (2 x 2 GB Trip mode)
Graham is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 11:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

agree about seagates being good, but for the extra coupe of notes you should get sata, even if its just for the improoved airflow. Plus youll have to option to raid it later on
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 11:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Buffalo, WY, USA
Posts: 226
Default

Why not go SATA? The HD is the slowest component in a computer. Why get one thats even slower? Especially when SATA is so cheap anyway.

I am also a Seaget fan but the 250 GB Seagate only has 8mb cache, and I think the 250 GB Western Digital has a 16mb cache, just something to think about.

And dont listen to the guy who said dont get SATA, thats just stupid. Maybe hes right, dont get SATA, get SATA II, hahaha. Either way, I would say dont get anything less then SATA. And its less then 10 freaking dollars more to get SATA instead of UATA. Unless your on an extreme budget, just freaking pamper yourself and get SATA, jesus.

Well I just looked and in the 250Gb modle, SATA is actually CHEAPER the UATA so hahahahha. Look for yourself: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...SubCategory=14
Tro1086 is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 07:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to Graham
Default

go on eBay and tell me that the SATA HDs are cheaper than UATA

also, check a review testing game performance with two different HD inputs: IDE vs SATA

you will find that there is no decrease in performance using an IDE over an SATA. the only thing SATA truly has is the tiny cable and maybe higher cahce levels.
__________________
- Intel i7-930 CPU @ 3.4 GHz w/ Zalman CNPS 9900 MAX
- Asus P6X58D Mainboard
- Corsair 1000W PSU
- Cooler Master HAF 932 Adv. Chassis
- SSD Intel 40 gig
- HDD: 2x SATA III 300 GBs
- LG Blu-Ray 8X
- Gigabyte GTX 670 WF @ 1098 Mhz
- Corsair Dominator 6 GB (2 x 2 GB Trip mode)
Graham is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 07:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

graham SATA is actually cheaper so why not get SATA?
Running is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 07:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

hdd obviously is not going to affect performance in games, DUH, it will only affect you when you are loading games. or opening etc etc.

its like going with s754 when s939 is cheaper. why go with s754 when s939 is better cheaper, and is upgradeable. raiding!
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 08:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to Graham
Default

Where did you find SATA HDDs cheaper then IDE? That I do not believe until I see it.
__________________
- Intel i7-930 CPU @ 3.4 GHz w/ Zalman CNPS 9900 MAX
- Asus P6X58D Mainboard
- Corsair 1000W PSU
- Cooler Master HAF 932 Adv. Chassis
- SSD Intel 40 gig
- HDD: 2x SATA III 300 GBs
- LG Blu-Ray 8X
- Gigabyte GTX 670 WF @ 1098 Mhz
- Corsair Dominator 6 GB (2 x 2 GB Trip mode)
Graham is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 10:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Buffalo, WY, USA
Posts: 226
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tro1086
Why not go SATA? The HD is the slowest component in a computer. Why get one thats even slower? Especially when SATA is so cheap anyway.

I am also a Seaget fan but the 250 GB Seagate only has 8mb cache, and I think the 250 GB Western Digital has a 16mb cache, just something to think about.

And dont listen to the guy who said dont get SATA, thats just stupid. Maybe hes right, dont get SATA, get SATA II, hahaha. Either way, I would say dont get anything less then SATA. And its less then 10 freaking dollars more to get SATA instead of UATA. Unless your on an extreme budget, just freaking pamper yourself and get SATA, jesus.

Well I just looked and in the 250Gb modle, SATA is actually CHEAPER the UATA so hahahahha. Look for yourself: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...SubCategory=14
I gave you a link in the first post I made...

Believe that?

And why risk it on ebay when youv got newegg... tried and true
Tro1086 is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 01:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to Graham
Default

easy: it is alot cheaper
__________________

__________________
- Intel i7-930 CPU @ 3.4 GHz w/ Zalman CNPS 9900 MAX
- Asus P6X58D Mainboard
- Corsair 1000W PSU
- Cooler Master HAF 932 Adv. Chassis
- SSD Intel 40 gig
- HDD: 2x SATA III 300 GBs
- LG Blu-Ray 8X
- Gigabyte GTX 670 WF @ 1098 Mhz
- Corsair Dominator 6 GB (2 x 2 GB Trip mode)
Graham is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.