2500$ Budget for an Overclockable PC? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2006, 11:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
aspire's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308

Gah i hate idiots

ok when your gaming as of now only one core will do the work now what this means is that youll be able to run a lot more applications at one time. However as games become more advanced they will start taking advantage of the second core. There is no need to turn a core off.

Alos the fx line is wayyyyy overpriced for their performance
id have to suggest a 3800 x2
along with a pair of 7800gtx 512's

If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.


The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 12:12 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6

...how am I an idiot...for most game you need to turn off a core...I have a friend who has a 3800 X2 and he sometimes needs to turn off one his cores on most aplications, which are mostly games...

EaZy-E is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 12:16 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563

I agree with aspire, I'd get a x2 3800 + some 7800GTX, or wait for the new line to come out.
Or get an opteron and overclock it, they overclock verryyyyyyy well.
PcMe is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 01:18 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
NickFas's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 273

Personally i would go with an opty 170 or 175. They overclock very well. Also, correct me if i'm wrong but can't you put 2 7200rpm hard drives together and it is still fast. So get 2 wd 250gb with 16mb cache and put them in raid 0. Personally, i am building another comp and right now i am putting in a 6600gt 256 mb (eVGA of course) and waiting for the next line of video cards from nvidia. Also, since u will overclock you might as well get pc4000 ram if you can fit it into your budget. Although it's not in stock as of this post, this ram seems to fit nicely


hopefully this post got your mind going on some of the options that you have! And by the way, dont get 2 optical drives as of its unneccesary or however you speel that werd

Proud owner of the only hampster powered rig on these boards.
NickFas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.