$20 PayPal to whoever solves my OverClocking problem! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2008, 01:35 AM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: $20 PayPal to whoever solves my OverClocking problem!

WOW! The stupidest mistake... I figured since I purchased my board in late November the new Bios that was released October 2nd should be on my board. I guess I was wrong. I loaded the new BIOS and as easy as that. I'll post some results in a bit!
__________________

__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 01:51 AM   #22 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
coldcheeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 50
Default Re: $20 PayPal to whoever solves my OverClocking problem!

Quote:
Originally Posted by decibaL View Post
this is distracting me from my physics so
lol...
__________________

coldcheeks is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 04:16 AM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: $20 PayPal to whoever solves my OverClocking problem!

I guess you'll be sending that $20 to nvidia :P ?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by weelilmatt View Post
I need a good gaming desktop that can run 5 instances of World of Warcraft w/o much lag, if any...

I'm not computer savvy.. so i need help! pleasee!! I just need it to be under $1000, just the desktop no mouse/keyboard/monitor
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 09:37 AM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: $20 PayPal to whoever solves my OverClocking problem!

Quote:
Originally Posted by decibaL View Post
lol trying to oc a quad on the 680i

and to mgcook, 125 mhz on pci-e can be harmful to your computer
i can boot mine up at 475FSB, and it will run for normal applications. I run it through 3dmark at 4.0Ghz and use it daily at 3.2Ghz.

don't say remarks like that unless you have actual EXPERIENCE..

kthx
mgcook is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 05:50 PM   #25 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default Re: $20 PayPal to whoever solves my OverClocking problem!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgcook View Post
i can boot mine up at 475FSB, and it will run for normal applications. I run it through 3dmark at 4.0Ghz and use it daily at 3.2Ghz.

don't say remarks like that unless you have actual EXPERIENCE..

kthx
4.0ghz for q6600 is garbage, get to 4.4 and we'll talk
__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 06:04 PM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: $20 PayPal to whoever solves my OverClocking problem!

Toss me some liquid nitrogen and i could probably do it.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 06:30 PM   #27 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: $20 PayPal to whoever solves my OverClocking problem!

Yeah, I made it to 3.375 Ghz without changing anything but FSB. I then upped to 3.6 Ghz. I set the volts to about 1.35 and it crashed in about 30 minutes of prime. The volts are now set in my bios at around 1.38v. So far it's been good for about an hour. Temps are around 45-52 degrees sometimes it spikes to 57. Heres a screen shot. Am I using prime right? It kicked on when I loaded it so I left it. It ran the self test fine before it BSOD on 1.35.



EDIT: Also is it dumb for me to use the computer during prime? Just the internet?

Double EDIT: I had my CPU Fan turned all the way up. (Tuniq cooler comes with a little nozzle to hook up to the back. Low to high) When I turned it down my temps raised about an average 8 degrees.
__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 09:57 AM   #28 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: $20 PayPal to whoever solves my OverClocking problem!

check task manager to see if all 4 cores are being used at 100%.
and it should be fine if your using the internet while stress testing.
and my tuniqs nozzle is set to tmax to although in my bios its set on auto, so when the cpu is being used at full throttle it gets loud.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking Ram problem Higach Overclocking and Modding 1 01-05-2008 02:06 AM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Overclocking problem Mike9182 Overclocking and Modding 9 08-09-2007 11:05 PM
Shutdown problem when overclocking Zatio89 Overclocking and Modding 6 05-20-2007 09:50 PM
Chronic Rebooting Problem AND_YOU_ARE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-24-2007 06:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.