2 Phenom reviews - Page 12 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2007, 09:41 PM   #111 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 2 Phenom reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
WTF? Average overclock to 3.6 for a g0 q6600? on stock voltage?!?! Yeah I'm sorry but in my experience and my experience observing others, thats a load of crock. Sure the Q6600 can get to 3.6, but not on stock voltage.
I've seen many overclocks like that on Xtreme Overclocking Forums.. with a TRUE... but then again.. they are like 1337 overclockers...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 09:46 PM   #112 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: 2 Phenom reviews

no way they do stock voltage... i'm 100% sure they're upping the fsb voltage, north bridge and south bridge and all that.. i had to up my voltage just to achieve 3.3 ghz
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 09:47 PM   #113 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 2 Phenom reviews

Thats a valid point Nosboost... i'm thinking they either did that.. or lapped it or both..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 09:49 PM   #114 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: 2 Phenom reviews

and i've come to the conclusion this mobo sorta blows for quad.. i don't think i'll achieve anything much higher than 3.3 ghz.. but.. lets hope i find a way... alot of memory divider problems and so fourth.. its a hit or miss on having unliked fsb w/ the memory.. so i have lots of playing to do
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 09:53 PM   #115 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: 2 Phenom reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
no way they do stock voltage... i'm 100% sure they're upping the fsb voltage, north bridge and south bridge and all that.. i had to up my voltage just to achieve 3.3 ghz
Hey NosBoost Im currently overclocking my q6600 very slowly, right now Im at 2.88 ghz, at what clock speed did you have up the vcore to reach it stability? I want to keep stock voltage so Im guessing I can mkae it up to 3.0 Ghz.

Note: Stable is considered able to run Orthos for at least 8 hours without any errors
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 09:54 PM   #116 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 2 Phenom reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
and i've come to the conclusion this mobo sorta blows for quad.. i don't think i'll achieve anything much higher than 3.3 ghz.. but.. lets hope i find a way... alot of memory divider problems and so fourth.. its a hit or miss on having unliked fsb w/ the memory.. so i have lots of playing to do
your stuck? dude... wtf... I was expecting a lot out of that board...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 09:58 PM   #117 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: 2 Phenom reviews

just FYI since theres so much discussion of the q6600:

That veebufreak who has been kinda helping me overclock my q6600 by answering my 2,000+ questions says he got to 3.6 Ghz with a 1.35 Vcore but his computer can't pass Ortho stress tests

BTW whats your q6600 guys idle and load temps?
My idle temps are 41-31 during the winter and 52-42 at load
Orthos Stress test can bump the temps of the 2 cores to 59 celcius! I can't find out how to get it to test all 4 quads, running 2 instances doesn't seem to work.
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 10:00 PM   #118 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 2 Phenom reviews

Nosboost i think ur just having bad luck:

Welcome to AnandTech.com [ Article: ASUS P5N32-E SLI Plus: NVIDIA's 650i goes Dual x16] because AnAndtech did pretty decently with a B3 QX6700
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 10:23 PM   #119 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: 2 Phenom reviews

1.45v.. i have not tried that high yet.. not on stock hsf

but thanks for showing me this... a nice lil show on how to oc w/ this board... good looking out!

i was just hoping for more at lower voltages.. cuz i dont' wanna go crazy yet.. maybe when i get that tuniq tower, or thermalright
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 10:31 PM   #120 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: 2 Phenom reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd gt player View Post
the toms hardware review states they have an unlocked multiplier allready so i dont see the point to a black edition.
negative on that, ghost rider. they are not unlocked moving up. only the FX are, or the black edition.
as far as "i have such and such overclock but it cant pass a stress test"
goes...well....
im sitting on the fence on that one.
i can get my 3600 to 3.3+ghz (ie it will boot). but in most respectable (as far as overclocking is respectable lol) circles not passing the stress test = invalid overclock.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 123 11-12-2007 02:03 AM
Phenom x4 vs Intel Core 2 and Quad gurusan New Systems | Building and Buying 25 11-03-2007 07:01 PM
AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 35 10-25-2007 05:33 AM
RV670, RD790 and Phenom Apokalipse Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 10-07-2007 10:26 PM
AMD Phenom processor maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-02-2007 03:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.