2 Kilowatt Power Supply anyone? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2007, 02:08 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

in fact 150A is far too much for the guage of cable used in PSUs would be my guess. can you say melting wires?

Visit my website - nitestick.net
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 02:50 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
ricanflow's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317

Id hate to see one of those short out. Itd be like hiroshima in my pc tower.

3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)

P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx

ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 06:26 AM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
CrazeD's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD

Originally posted by ricanflow
Id hate to see one of those short out. Itd be like hiroshima in my pc tower.

You could run like four systems off that baby.

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 12:39 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286

My dog likes to lay up against my tower. Used to think it was the warmth, but this makes me think its the radiation .
Opteron 175 + Scythe Infinity
Asus A8N32-SLI
2 gigs corsair XMS DDR 400
XFX geforce 6800 XT
X-navigator case
30G Maxtor + 250G Maxtor

"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn." -- Seagate CEO Bill Watkins
bum is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 12:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010

Who can afford the electricity on a system that requires a PSU of that magnitude? Stupid idea making them, it will give hardware manufactures the idea we all have PSU's like that. :roll:

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 03:02 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
Graham's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to Graham

maybe the R600 crossfire setup needs it lol
- Intel i7-930 CPU @ 3.4 GHz w/ Zalman CNPS 9900 MAX
- Asus P6X58D Mainboard
- Corsair 1000W PSU
- Cooler Master HAF 932 Adv. Chassis
- SSD Intel 40 gig
- HDD: 2x SATA III 300 GBs
- LG Blu-Ray 8X
- Gigabyte GTX 670 WF @ 1098 Mhz
- Corsair Dominator 6 GB (2 x 2 GB Trip mode)
Graham is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 04:42 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869

Originally posted by CrazeD

You could run like four systems off that baby.

...You know what? You're right, you COULD run 4 systems off of that.

That's scary...
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 01:51 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401

2,000 Watt's you'd need to run it off at least a 20 amp breaker without trippin it to even get a full 2,000 Watt's. Also you'd need a 14 Gauge power cord at least to get a full amount of current. 16 Gauge wouldn't cut it.
augest is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 02:38 AM   #19 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
NosBoost300's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300

you'd be able to run a nice heater as well
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 02:49 AM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869

Quality over Quantity, my friends. :classic:

TriEclipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.