2 HDDs or 4 HDDs for a 160gig SATA raid? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2005, 02:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to jaross
Default 2 HDDs or 4 HDDs for a 160gig SATA raid?

I was woundering which would be better. Could I format 4 80 gig HDDs so that 2 were considered one drive, and 2 were considered the other drive and then do a raid with those? would that be faster because 2 read heads and 2 times the cache as opposed to 2 160 gig HDDs?

I ordered 2 160 gig sata from tigerdirect, $60 each, but i may cancel my order because they are taking forever to ship out. Office Max here has 80 gig sata drives for $40.
__________________

__________________
AMD FX-55
2 GIGs Patriot RAM
ATI X850XT PL

G4 Powerbook

\"I have a blatant disregard for EULAs\"
jaross is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 03:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Your computer probolly wouldnt support 4 drives in RAID. The tiger deal is worth it
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 07:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Are you talking about RAID 0?

You Can RAID 0 - (2) 80gig HDD's on one RAID Controller
Then RAID 0 - (2) more 80GIG HDD's on another RAID Controller

But, you can't RAID 0 those two independant arrays together.
I don't think???

Why would you spend $40x4 = $160 to RAID (4) tiny disc's together to only get about 300gigs of space. You're not going to get a huge preformance boost outta that.

You'd be better off picking up a OEM Seagate Barracuda 300gig and partitioning the drive into a few seperate drive letters. You could do this for $165.00. And you'd have plenty of SATA contollers left on your motherboard for future additions to storage.

RAID 0 doesn't provide a great deal of performance boost.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 11:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to jaross
Default

raid 1 does though doesnt it? is raid 1 a striped raid?
__________________
AMD FX-55
2 GIGs Patriot RAM
ATI X850XT PL

G4 Powerbook

\"I have a blatant disregard for EULAs\"
jaross is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 12:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jaross
raid 1 does though doesnt it? is raid 1 a striped raid?
No RAID 1 isn't striping. RAID 0 is.

Here, I suggest you read this:
http://www.webopedia.com/TERM/R/RAID.html
HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 02:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to jaross
Default

ok^

so umm. RAID 1 is the best read proformance?
__________________
AMD FX-55
2 GIGs Patriot RAM
ATI X850XT PL

G4 Powerbook

\"I have a blatant disregard for EULAs\"
jaross is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 02:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jaross
ok^

so umm. RAID 1 is the best read proformance?
RAID arrays aren't really about increasing performance. It's a solution in which you combined 2 or more inexpensive or independant discs to get a larger storage space.

OR

You combined 2 or more inexpensive or independant discs to give you data security. Like RAID 1 or RAID 5. Example: Take (2) 200gig SATA HDD's and configure them in a RAID 1 Array, How much storage space do you think you'll have? 400gig right? WRONG.
You'll only have 200gig because RAID one is striping with parity. Which means all the data written to 1 disc is also written to the other disc as well. If 1 disc fails, guess what you have a duplexed disc to recover your DATA from. RAID 5 is like RAID 1 but you need to have 3 to 4 HDD's - Data is striped to 3 discs, while the 4th is striped with parity. You lose one drive. You can recover all your data. These solutions are very good for businesses and corporations as it provides data security.

RAID 0 which has become very popular in desktops is more or less used to combined 2 discs say 200gig & 200gig to give you 400gig in one drive letter. A little bit of data is striped to both drives. Sure both discs will be sharing the work load when it comes to accessing data but the performance isn't going to be mind blowing. Example I want to have a 500GIG hard drive. But, the price is ($360 - roughly) OR how about if I buy (2) 250GIG HDD's and RAID 0 them at ($115 each) So that's 500GIG for only ($230). That's ($130) less then the one drive. I could even buy another 250gig HDD and get 750GIG for $345 vs. 500GIG for $360. Get it?
Performance increase is very slight in RAID 0 and most noticably in I/O performance. Applications that require high bandwidth will show noticable performance increase. One of the largest factors in a performance increase of RAID 0 is the MOBO's chipset and controllers. Some increase performance, some don't. Google this, "RAID PERFORMANCE BENCHMARKS" you'll find plenty of articles that support what i'm saying.

I hope you have a better understanding now of all RAID ARRAYS.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 01:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to jaross
Default

Ok, thanks for the help. I had thought that people get proformance out of raid.

so it looks like Im really better off getting a 10,000 RPM Raptor for that though? With 2 gigs of ram, will I really see that much of a proformance increse with that over a 7200 rpm sata drive though?

Also, on newegg, i saw a few HDDs with 16mb chache. that doesnt help it read faster does it? How is that different then ram though in terms of the proformance it gives you? Is 16mb cache a very significant proformance increse from 8mb cache?

thanks again
__________________
AMD FX-55
2 GIGs Patriot RAM
ATI X850XT PL

G4 Powerbook

\"I have a blatant disregard for EULAs\"
jaross is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 04:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

IMO - It's more advantageous to have 2GIG's of RAM, then to have HDD's with 16MB of internal cache. That cache is used to store frequent reads from the disc to minimize access times. If you have a substantial amount of system memory all of that data from the disc reads will be stored there for quick transfer from the northbridge to the CPU. Also windows uses whats called a "paging file or a swap file". These files reside on your harddrive as "virtual memory". Frequently used data is cached from the system memory to the paging file by windows to eliminate disc reads for frequently needed data.

8mb internal disc cache is more then enough for desktop usage with 1gig - 2gig of system memory. IMO

Pick up (1) WD RAPTOR 74gig @ 10,000rpms. And install only your OS and high-end demanding games and applications on it. Perfomance will be excellent paired with 2gig's of RAM. Very fast access times + substantial data storage for northbridge and CPU, will give you the performance increase you seek.

Good luck.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 06:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

2hd just cause it is less confusing
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.