2.8GHZ beat by a 900MHz - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2006, 04:23 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 52
Default

Power Supply can be the root of a whole lot of problems. But I know I have a good PSU, so that might or might not be the case for you.

I really can't say, its a totally weird problem. Our newer systems are obviously many times powerful than our older ones; Twice as fast processor, 3x the memory, and a faster HDD in my case.

Weird.
__________________

Outofwords is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 07:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 33
Default

its likely to be drivers for something, it nearly always is.
failing that. reinstall windows, defragment and all that and remove any uneeded programs.
failing that still then look into power supply issues or CPU running at right clock speed ect but if you dont fully know what your doing that could be fatal for your computer.

start with drivers for absolutely everything you can think of and get them updated if possible , old ones could also be out of date.
__________________

Solitary is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 08:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Intel chips always load XP slower at startup. My Socket 478 Prescott with 2 gigs of Corsair runs the startup bar 12 times. My AMD 3500+ socket 939 on runs the windows startup bar once!! I believe it has to do wiht the way XP prefetches the progrms at OS load. AMD platforms load XP much faster but when XP is loaded I see no performance differences other than in gaming mood. It is a good question and I would like an answer myself!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 09:29 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 52
Default

Then how did my 1.0Ghz Pentium III beat my 2.6Ghz Athlon 64? Lol.
Outofwords is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 09:43 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AnthraX
How very helpful you are.

I would check you startup programs (run > msconfig) and make sure nothing out of the ordinary is running.


Im sorry I was just in the mood


Im good now...im good...
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 10:25 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default

If its just XP load up time then who cares. As long as your getting better performance in games and apps then it really dosent matter.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 11:00 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 52
Default

Matters to some of us. Its called curiosity.
Outofwords is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 12:19 AM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default

Its called idiocy. Each processor/computer/setup/combination is different. It would take you years to figure out why it does what it does. Not to mention by the time you figure that recent batch out, you have a whole other batch to figure out casue technology upgrades so fast. Then you have another OS to figure out as well.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 01:23 AM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 52
Default

It would take one Computer Science Major around 5 minutes.

Might take you years.
Outofwords is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 01:38 AM   #20 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

LoL, anyways, download CPU-Z it will tell you how fast your CPU is clocking at, you can also check various programs from AMD ect.
__________________

__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.