1U Rackmount Server Temperature - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2006, 12:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Default 1U Rackmount Server Temperature

Hello all,

I have a quick question, hope this is the right place to post it, if not please move. I recently purchased a 1U rackmount server and will be co-locating it in a datacenter in a couple of weeks.

The datacenter will have cooling, power, etc. however prior to the co-locating I need to rebuild the server and do some work/testing on it. The specs. are below:

1 Pentium Dual Core Processor (3.0GHz)
1 GB Memory
2 250 SATA HD's w/Hardware RAID (Configured for RAID 1)
Supermicro 1U Chassis w/two hot-swappable drives

My question is... is it okay to run this unit at room temperature for awhile. By room temperature, I mean an air conditioned office. The server came with a CentOS 4.3 x86_64 SMP kernel on it that I, unfortunately due to software requirements, have to load Fedora Core 4 64bit on instead. And I need to do some testing so would like to run it for a couple of days.

I think it should be okay... my thoughts are that a single Pentium D can be found in workstations. This is my first real rackmount server, and I'm just paranoid!!!! Just want to make sure I don't destroy it :-)

Best Regards,

ter310 is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 12:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543

yea it should be fine running it at room temperature, even if it starts overheating im pretty sure the mobo will restart the computer or shut it down so that might be an indication of it getting too hot.

3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 03:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2

Thanks for the advice. I guess if I had a room full of them, I'd have a problem! Should be fine and I read through the MB documentation, and it will alert on overheat.
ter310 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.