1st-Timer Build [AM2] (no intels please) Need feedback before I buy - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2007, 11:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 204
Default 1st-Timer Build [AM2] (no intels please) Need feedback before I buy

I know I've been suggested the Intel Core2Duo many times yet I shrugged it off, but I really want to be an AMD fan. I don't think its healthy to go back and forth.
Before we begin, if I stick with this AM2 MOBO, am I able to upgrade my processor to new AMD versions (since they will possibly be better than Core2Duo)?

THIS IS FOR A STOCK COMPUTER, NO OCING OR SLI/CROSSFIRE

Processor
Athlon X2 4200+ AMD - 169.00
MOBO
DFI Infinity Socket AM2 - 88.99
RAM
2 x 1GB sticks - 189.99
Video Card
eVGA GeForce 7950GT - 214.99
Hard Drive
WD Caviar 160GB 7200RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s - 62.99
PSU
Antec 550W - 109.99
OP Drive 1
DVD/CD RW - 23.99
OP Drive 2
CD RW - 17.49
Case
Apevia Black Steel Tower ATX - 119.99
Monitor
CHIMEI 19" 2ms Widescreen - 214.99
Approximate Total - 1162.41 [Without Tax or Shipping]

I know I'm kinda paying too much for a case, but hey its a tower and it fits my junk. I want a monitor because my current LCD is a piece of no-brand junk.
Let me know anything before I buy all this.

Updates:
1. Changed Video Card from GeForce 7800GTX to 7950GT
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2GHz
Artic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO
2x 2GB Patriot DDR3 1333
eVGA GTX 460 768MB
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM SATA
LITE-ON DVD
LG CD
Cooler Master Silent Pro 600W
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
turboxchaz is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 12:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: 1st-Timer Build [AM2] (no intels please) Need feedback before I buy

Quote:
I know I've been suggested the Intel Core2Duo many times yet I shrugged it off, but I really want to be an AMD fan. I don't think its healthy to go back and forth.
i love this guy already....!!!

and as far as the build goes....i say change the grahpics to this-
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150216
because there is no reason to get a recertified 7800, when you can get a new 7900gt....

and yes, stick with AM2, it is the future of upgrading for AMD....
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 12:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 204
Default

^i read in a gamespot article and i THINK that it showed that 7800GTX performed better than a 7900 during high performance..meaning when theres lots of ppl in a game area, the 7800GTX had more Frame/sec.

I could be wrong, but my goal for the video card is for a better fps under harsh conditions.
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2GHz
Artic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO
2x 2GB Patriot DDR3 1333
eVGA GTX 460 768MB
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM SATA
LITE-ON DVD
LG CD
Cooler Master Silent Pro 600W
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
turboxchaz is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 12:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Yeah i love him too LOL:P

Hmm if your going am2 why not get the 5000+ model at least? it doesnt start getting expensive until you get to the X2 5200+ (2.6ghz), and even then thats cheaper than say a E6600(well in the uk it is anyway)
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 12:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

It's hard to say if this board will support future sockets of AMD CPU's... first they need to be released... Also, just because they use the same number of pins or a similar socket, doesn't necessarly mean that a future CPU will work in it... There are some Socket 775 motherboards that the C2D's aren't supported in.

I would also recommend Seagate drives over Western Digital.... Seagate is afterall, #1 in the HDD market...
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 12:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 34
Default Re: 1st-Timer Build [AM2] (no intels please) Need feedback before I buy

Quote:
Originally posted by turboxchaz
I know I've been suggested the Intel Core2Duo many times yet I shrugged it off, but I really want to be an AMD fan.
Awesome, thanks for suggesting it to me when I, too, would rather want an AMD lol

The monitor you posted looks pretty nice. I'm thinking of upgrading my old CRT and Chimei was one of the brands that looked pretty good to me.
Chumly is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 12:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

Why do you want to get 7800GTX ??

You can get 7950GT for the same price
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130074
maroon1 is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 12:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

you think its unhealthy to switch back and forth????
wow
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 01:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

7950 > 7800gtx > 7900gs.
but the 7900 gs is still a great card.
i love you too.
im surprised you haven't had the usual intel user amd bash fest going on in this thread yet.
ethereal, from what i have read the am3 cpu's will be compatible with the am2 socket mobos. but the am3 mobo will not be compatible with am2 as it will use ddr3 ram.
johnny uk,
i dont thing the performance increase with the 5000 is worth it, do you?
he can overclock a 4200 easily to the speed of the 5000, with really a small voltage increase ( i run mine most of the time at 2.65 on 1.4V). and the overclocking ability of the 5000...i dunno. i would be impressed if it clocked over 3ghz. i don't see many (really i NEVER see) amd x2's clocked past 2.8-2.9ish. i read one review in legitreview.com or something and they broke past 3.0 but not that far. and i think they were watercooling, lol.
good luck man!
let us know if you need help...myself and others here know a few tweaks to get the most out of that rig.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 01:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nagasama
7950 > 7800gtx > 7900gs.
but the 7900 gs is still a great card.
i love you too.
im surprised you haven't had the usual intel user amd bash fest going on in this thread yet.
ethereal, from what i have read the am3 cpu's will be compatible with the am2 socket mobos. but the am3 mobo will not be compatible with am2 as it will use ddr3 ram.
johnny uk,
i dont thing the performance increase with the 5000 is worth it, do you?
he can overclock a 4200 easily to the speed of the 5000, with really a small voltage increase ( i run mine most of the time at 2.65 on 1.4V). and the overclocking ability of the 5000...i dunno. i would be impressed if it clocked over 3ghz. i don't see many (really i NEVER see) amd x2's clocked past 2.8-2.9ish. i read one review in legitreview.com or something and they broke past 3.0 but not that far. and i think they were watercooling, lol.
good luck man!
let us know if you need help...myself and others here know a few tweaks to get the most out of that rig.
cuz...dual core opterons with 2x 1 mb L2 caches OCed to 3.0ghz+ will beat any e6300.....
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.