1st build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2007, 09:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 119
Default 1st build

Ok, this is what I have come up with for my first build

Case:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129021

Mobo:
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16813131070

CPU:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115005

PSU:
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16817128002

HDD:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136033

Graphics: (budget constraints)
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16814130038

RAM:
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16820231098

Cooling:
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16835118019

As stated previously, this is my first build. The case is non-negotiable as I have already purchased it. I would like to eventually OC the proc to 3.0 Ghz(just seems like the thing to do). My question is, will this be a problem with the hardware I have chosen (I question the ram)?
__________________

leje0306 is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 10:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

The case is good has plenty of cooling.
The mobo is ok i would go with the AW9D-Max it has been getting great feedback from users
The Psu is good brand and 580w should be more then enough to power your system
video-card is good but if you have a monitor with higher then 1600x1200 you may want to wait for that little bit more dedicated ram.
The cpu cooler looks good zalman is a reliable brand.
the Ram looks good i just recomended it to sum1 else lol

CPU???
HDD???
both are missing from your list

I assume your getting windows xp mce until vista has the bugs ironed out
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 11:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 119
Default

My mistake, I did this post in a hurry. I have edited my original post. I will be adding 2 250 wd's in raid 0 later. The raptor will be for OS/programs.
__________________
Intel C2D E6300 @3.00 Ghz
Asus P5B-E
Antec Nine Hundred
HiPer 580 PSU
evga 8800 GTS 320 MB
G. Skill 2 GB DDR2 860
Seagate 250 GB sata 2 HD
Chimei 22\" Widescreen LCD
leje0306 is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 11:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

ok i would go with a slight upgrade on the cpu to an e6400 as it has unlocked multipliers and is suppose to have the best price/performance of the core 2 duo range even when overclocked.

I would get a seagate barracuda 7200.10 as your storage harddrive as they have 5 year warranty and are the fastest 7200rpm currently out. If you want to buy a raptor do but to be honest i personally cant justify the cost compared to a slight benefit in load times but its your money. I would replace the raptor with a seagate barracuda 7200.10 the price per gb is sooooooo much better.

Matt
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 12:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 119
Default

I thought the 6300 was the easiest to OC...
__________________
Intel C2D E6300 @3.00 Ghz
Asus P5B-E
Antec Nine Hundred
HiPer 580 PSU
evga 8800 GTS 320 MB
G. Skill 2 GB DDR2 860
Seagate 250 GB sata 2 HD
Chimei 22\" Widescreen LCD
leje0306 is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 12:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

They're both easy to overclock. Honestly, I don't think the extra mhz, if any that you get from the e6400 over the e6300 justifies the extra 30 dollars.
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 01:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

the whole core 2 duo series is easy too overclock. please just trust me that the e6400 is quicker and is worth the extra 30 dollars it is only 30 dollars you can probably find that inbetween the cushions on your sofa lol. I once needed a bit of extra money for pizza and i found over 50 quid in my sofa thats 100 dollars
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.