1gb pc3200 or 1.25gb pc2700 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2006, 05:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 23
Default 1gb pc3200 or 1.25gb pc2700

Sorry if this question has been asked a lot, but would 1gb pc3200 or 1.25gb pc2700 give better performance?

Basically I have a 1gb pc3200 stick, and a 256mb pc2700 stick atm, so should I put them both in at the lower speed, or just put the 1gb one in and have a faster speed?

As I said I already have them so cost is not an issue, just which one would give better performance.

Thanks
__________________

Penguinlord is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 05:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 103
Default

Use the PC3200 1GB
__________________

Frank Jaeger is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 05:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 23
Default

That's what I thought but I wanted to check first.
Penguinlord is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 06:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I'd go with the PC3200.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 06:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

definitely the pc3200
Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 06:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 23
Default

definitetly? o.k. I thought it would be a close thing but if you say so.
Penguinlord is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 06:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Well, if you motherboard only supports up to PC2700 then go fot that. My motherboard only supports PC2100, but I would still go for PC2700 so I can keep my CPU overclocked.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.